2006 Tank Urban Sporty 150cc Review

by Alan McGowan
(Nashville TN)

Well, out of the box it ran just fine. However at about the 400 mile mark I had my first problem, as I was driving home from work at about 54 mph, every bulb in the bike BLEW! I was completely dark, no lights except my brake light.


I replaced the bulbs and it happened again two days later! I got tired of this now, very expensive, so I jerry-rigged a pair of automotive 45 watt head lights to the bike. It never blew another bulb again.

However the muffler stripped its header studs and finally at the 1500 mile mark it sucked a valve while I was trying to pass a car. All in all it gave me a mile for every dollar I spent on it. I bought a Kymco Super 8 150cc last year; it has 2800 miles on it and I've had NO problems with it so far.

Comments for 2006 Tank Urban Sporty 150cc Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
150 uraband sporty was has been great for me NEW
by: Anonymous

I bought my tank urban sporty in2008 brand new. I have been real pleased with it ever since. It still runs great and have had no big issues at all. I have 3800 miles on it so far. I do however change the oil out every fall and I make sure I run the carb dry before storing it for the winter. It has been fun to ride and I can cruise all day at 60 with no problems.

Oct 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tank Urban Sproty 150cc
by: Yscoot

Purchased my Tank used with only 230 miles on it. first ride with some other scooters out to the country. Put about 130 miles on it that day. No problems with it.

The only thing is when I start it, it starts right up, however either takes a very long time to warm up, or it chokes out. After reading some of the advice on Scooter Start up, we have now come to the conclusion it's the choke. What a wonderful page this is. I have to say I definitely love my Tank......And i definitely love this site.

Jun 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I'm Not so Sure
by: Jim Zeiser

As you can tell from Rick's statement about having 21,000 miles on his "cheap" scooter this may not be true.

As the boss in my first job taught me over 60 years ago -- "You get what you pay for."

This was the "stuff" that Harley owners tried to use when Japanese motorcycles came on the scene. As someone who owned one for 125,000 miles and never had to do rings, valves or lower end bearings (like most Harleys of 1979) I can tell you that what counts is how you ride it and how you take care of it.

More and more stories of high mileage Chinese scooters are popping up every year. Yes, there are horror stories, but look at the owners. People who are more inclined to whine, cry and point fingers than maintain their scooters or take positive action when something goes wrong. Smart people with problems come here or go to Scootdawg.com forum for answers. Look at all the people we've helped get their scooters running or repaired or where to get parts.

In the end you only get convenience for your dollar. You won't have to take care of a more expensive scooter as much as a cheap one. But in the end if you take a cheap China scoot to a reputable dealer every 1,000 miles for service it will probably last as long as one costing three times as much.

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love MY Tank Sporty Scooter!
by: rick

That's odd... my Tank Sporty just turned 21,000 miles this summer and still runs like a champ... I change oil every 800 Miles... I definitely got my money's worth... Guess I got a rare gem...

Dec 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
You get what you pay for
by: Vic Kelly

When I bought my Buddy 150, the dealer commented, Sure you can get a $1,000 scooter; but what you have is a $1,000 scooter.

Scooters have a more frequent maintenance rotation -- every 1,000 miles -- than automobiles (after all, they're one-lungers). So more dollars per mile will be spent there than with a cager. A quality scooter will have need of fewer repairs, and because of its greater dependability, it will pay for itself over a lower end scooter. In addition, when it comes time to move up or on (yeah, I'm hoping that Buddy will offer a 250 soon!), the resale value will be higher.

As the boss in my first job taught me over 60 years ago -- "You get what you pay for."

Dec 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks for the Review
by: Kathi

Thanks, Alan, for the feedback on your Tank scooter. Your experience, unfortunately, doesn't sound too unique. I think I'd be afraid to try one of those scoots (being totally the opposite of a "gearhead"). :)

Hope you are happier with your Kymco.

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Tank Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines