Review of Carino 150 LE 2008 Znen Scooter

by Gary M
(Nashville, TN USA)

Carino 150 LE at scenic overlook near Nashville, TN.

Carino 150 LE at scenic overlook near Nashville, TN.

Here is a review of a Carino 150 LE Znen scooter... Late last year I started searching for a scooter that would fit my needs, something to cruise around the neighborhood and occasionally allow me to make longer trips for shopping and pleasure riding.

At first, I looked at the local brick and mortar stores locally but alas, everything I found was far too expensive. I've owned scooters in the distant past and also motorcycles and dirt bikes from Honda to Vespas to Yamahas, so this isn't my first experience with cycling.

After becoming discouraged, I started doing research on the Internet and found Chinese scooters. I read all the horror stories about inferior quality, stripped bolts and nuts, and just plain cheesy bikes. Then in late September I walked into a scooter store that sold Chinese scooters.

I test rode one, a Flyscooter La Vie and really liked the look, style and quality of the scooter. Doing more research, I found that Flyscooter was purchasing their scooters from Znen, a large, better quality Chinese scooter and ATV factory. I found an Internet site that sold the same basic scooter, but at a considerably less price.

I ended up buying my Carino 150 LE from and the rest is history. I paid $1100.00 shipped to my door and my shiny new scooter arrived in about a week. It came in a metal shipping crate with cardboard over it. I uncrated my new scooter, charged the battery, changed the oil and did an inspection... checking for loose bolts, nuts and screws... and then put gas in it and rode it.

I was amazed that I could purchase a scooter sight unseen, do the prep work on it and end up with a wonderful looking and riding scooter! I now have 450 miles on it and it just keeps getting better and better.

The only problem I've had with it thus far was I had to replace the fuel pump, total cost, $19.95, and it rides beautifully now. If I had it to do over again I wouldn't change a thing, I'm very very happy with my purchase and I expect to get many miles and years of enjoyment out of my Carino 150 LE.

Comments for Review of Carino 150 LE 2008 Znen Scooter

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 17, 2012
Final comments NEW
by: Gary Morris

Sorry for the delay but I sold my Carino 150 Le last March to a nice young lady on Craigslist. I sold it for $1000 and it had a total od 2,500 miles on it. The cost of ownership for that period including gas and oil was $1,500 which includes the cost of the scooter, insurance, taxes and tags. Not a bad deal if you ask me.


May 16, 2012
Grandson NEW
by: Anonymous

Gary sounds like the Grandson of the owner! Lol

Mar 27, 2011
I wish I had known
by: Yoly

I am not disliking my Genuine Buddy any bit less than I did when bought new in 2010, but had I known of this, I would have wanted one. I saw one on my way home one day and followed the rider until he was out of view on Simi
Valley, CA. I did not know what it was, only a glimpse of the name, asked many places and nobody knew. It really shows well, and your review makes it desirable.

Mar 27, 2011
2008 Znen MP150D scooter
by: Bill

I bought my wife a Znen 2008 MP150D scooter a few days ago. First I will say great looking scooter. Being I have a motorcycle and she has never ever really rode anything more than a bike except on the back of my Vulcan. Anyway We picked it up I had to drive it home I'm 6'0 245lbs. Had about a 4 mile ride home and was impressed the whole way. This scooter kicks butt. I got up to 60mph down hill 65mph. Not to mention 80mpg,
Oh did I mention the alarm system, remote start, and mp3/Ipod/hook up w/ speakers that are suprisingly loud. Have had it long about a week but so far pretty happy with it. it has 326 miles on it.

Feb 07, 2011
16 Month Report
by: Gary M

It's now been 16 months and a total of 2422 miles since I purchased my Carino 150 scooter. During that time I've replaced the belt and rollers, fuel pump and the speedometer. The speedometer developed a crack on the inside of the dial which got larger with the more miles I put on it. GS Motorworks replaced the speedometer under warranty and at no cost to me.
The belt didn't need replacing but since I wanted to inspect the CVT and rollers I went ahead and replaced the belt as well. The rollers were starting to develop flats spots on them which was causing a slight vibration at high speed. Replacing the rollers and belt resolved this issue. Total cost of repairs has been about $55.00 including the belt, rollers and fuel pump. It seems these vacuum pumps don't last very long due to the Ethenol in our gasoline. Seems that Ethenol eats the rubber up in time causing the one way valves in the fuel pump to go bad.
I'm getting about 85 miles per gallon of gas giver or take 5 miles depending on how fast I drive.


Aug 29, 2010
Update on Carino 150 LE
by: Gary

I now have slightly over 1,600 miles on my Carino and she's getting better all the time. I've had no major issues with it and yesterday I took a 60 mile ride out into the country. I'm very pleased with my purchase and would recommend the Carino to anyone wanting a nice looking retro scooter.


Jul 15, 2010
Buy It
by: Jim Zeiser

I know this is very late, but if you can still purchase it, do so. No where, not any online seller I know of, can you buy this model that cheap. This is one of Znen's best scooters and that's a super price.

Jun 21, 2010
Znen fpr $899
by: Anonymous

I just saw an ad for a Znen for $899, locally and I am about to ask for a looky look. It seems they are kept on a storage facility in town, so maybe someone ordered a bunch of them,, It looks like the craiglister is are offering the model called

Classic Series Motorcycle (C Dove)Model: ZN125T-F

I wish I had more feedback on these.

Mar 10, 2010
Additional Review Information
by: Gary M

Here are a few additional comments I neglected to mention that I should have in the original post.

1. Fit and finish: The fit and finish of the Carino 150 is excellent and I would give it and overall rating of 9 out of 10.
2. Ride comfort: The ride on the Carino 150 is rather harsh, when going over a bumpy road at speed the shocks do not perform very well which translates to a rather rough ride. I would rate the ride a 4 out of 10.
3. Styling: I love the looks of this scooter as it reminds me of my 1964 Vespa. Granted the exterior is plastic vs. metal but it does the job, if you were to lay down this scooter repair parts for the body are inexpensive. I'd rate the styling a 10 out of 10.
4. Brakes: Excellent brakes, superior to my old Vespa with drum brakes, the Carino has disk brakes front and rear. The stopping power and control is excellent. I'd rate braking at 10 out of 10.
5. Fuel mileage: The Carino gets in the 70-80 MPG range, I'd rate the mileage at 8 out of 10.
6. Value: The Carino 150 LE can be purchased for $1,100.00 including shipping in the US. I'd rate the value 10 out of 10.
7. Warranty: Although I've only had one issue with the Carino I have not needed to use the warranty so far. The Carino comes with a one-year engine warranty for parts, 6- month warranty on the rest of the scooter. I'd rate the warranty a 5 out of 10, the reason for the lower rating is because there is no labor warranty but that's also the reason the price is low.
8. Over all rating: I'd rate the Carino and 8 out of 10, I now have over 550 miles and it just keeps getting better and better! I would highly recommend this scooter to anyone, and if I was in the market for another scooter I would order from GSMotorworks for sure!


Mar 09, 2010
Great Review
by: Kathi

This is a great review, Gary. Sounds like your experience with a cheap Chinese scooter has been as positive as quite a few others who've posted here.

Congrats & have a great time with your scooter... spring is on the way! And that means great scootering...

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines