Review of 2005 Daelim S2 150cc Scooter

by Craig Bathurst
(Lancaster, PA, USA)

Daelim S2 125cc Scooter

Daelim S2 125cc Scooter

This Daelim S2 125cc Scooter (South Korea model) has been my first scooter (bought in Feb. 2006) and overall I have been pleased with it. It has a 125cc 12 HP, 4 port, 4 stroke engine that is oil cooled.


It has 12" tires with all disk brakes and a 3 gallon gas tank. It has nice storage underneath the seat. It has a nice bright headlight and a big taillight in the rear.

It's a medium sized scooter and I have gotten up to 70 mph and 65 mpg. Presently, I have 24,000 Km on it. At 23,000 Km the carburetor went bad (which can happen) and dumped raw gas into the cylinder and ruined the valves. I had the engine rebuilt at a cost of just under $800. The carb was an odd size and I had to use Daelim's carb. nothing else would fit.

The scooter cost me $3300 to buy including tax. I replaced the rollers for the CVT; it was time to change them at 23,000 Km and I also had to replace the rear master cylinder to pass inspection for 2010. This engine is of better quality than the Chinese engines.

I ride this scooter year round even in the winter months. Yes, I do wear leather chaps to keep my legs warm. It's a blast to ride! I take it on the highway during light traffic. It doesn't have the power to pass cars on the highway. The car drivers here are nuts!

I have ridden this with other motorcyclists all over the place and they're impressed with this scooter. There is also a 250cc version of the S2. Same frame and plastic, but a bigger engine, rear tire and suspension.

I bought a tall windshield for it and it keeps the wind off of me and keeps me warmer, when it's cold. It didn't come with a rear rack so I designed one and had it made out of stainless steel and I put a 45 Liter Givi box on it. I can now do grocery shopping with it.

This is a great scooter for city or rural traffic. Where I live, I have both kinds of traffic. It will carry two people.

This winter I had to put Startron additive into the ethanol gas. The engine is hard to start when the temp goes below 50 degrees. I switched over to non ethanol gasoline and the engine starts right up and holds an idle. I let the engine idle for 5 mins. to heat it up and it's ready to go. It has been a BIG improvement with the non ethanol gas for the cold weather.

Two years ago the distributor in Miami, FL went out of business by trying to run it on too few people and it went under. There is another distributor in Miami, FL (2010), but I don't think they stock all the parts for Daelim scooters. I think they have to order the parts for you.

There is another business that stocks parts (not plastics) for dealers only. I usually go thru Mr. Lee's Bike shop in JeJu Island, S. Korea for parts. He can get me ANY part I need and he sends it quickly when payment has been made.

When the US economy crashed a couple years back; Daelim stopped shipping scooters. The US Market dried up; which is understandable. I don't know when they will start shipping them again to the US. They started to ship some of their scooters to Canada again last year (2009).

Comments for Review of 2005 Daelim S2 150cc Scooter

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Christine Walsh

You have a professional niche site, thank you for your awesome work!
May I ask to do a favor for me? - I really want to publish some ads of my site CostumeLook Costume Ideas on your blog and will pay you good money!
Your niche blog is one of the best I saw, please, answer me and we will discuss all the details! Thank you!

Jun 12, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Greta Dooley

Hi! Thanks for your great articles!
May I share one of your articles on my site about swimwear?

After publishing I will link for you as an author! Thanks!

Mar 11, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Gas cap NEW
by: Anonymous

The gas cap is located on the left side of the handle bars. Insert the key into the lock and turn it to open the door. You will need the same key as the ignition. If you don't have the key, it will be best to order a new lock set for the ignition and gas cap.

Mar 10, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2005 Daelim 125cc scooter question NEW
by: Jeanine

I inherited this scooter without a manual or a key, so I removed the ignition to bring it to a locksmith to get a key made. I know this may sound silly, but I have a question for all you scooter-heads.....I don't see where you put gas in this thing! Am I missing the obvious?

Nov 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Parts for S2 125cc or 250cc NEW
by: Craig

If you need parts go to Mr Lee's Bike Shop in Je JU, So. Korea. You can contact him at info@hyosungsource.com

I had to replace my Variator, rollers and drive belt. I bought the whole variator kit. After 5 years the thing rusted and ruined the rollers and belt. After doing some research for parts, Mr Lee was the cheapest. $110 for everything including shipping. You can get parts, but it will take some time getting them.

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
daelim s2 250
by: Anonymous

I purchased one of these... I never knew a scooter had such quick pickup; this scooter can hang... trying to collect parts little by little from the dealer in Korea, but wow shipping is as much as buying the product... it can get expensive, but you have to keep up with maintenance. Also it's very good looking... I get lots of compliments on it.

Aug 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Windshield
by: steve

I have a 2006 s2 250 and I'm very impressed with the power. I never thought a scooter would have pickup like this. Where did you get your windshield? I've been searching but parts are scarce.

Jan 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks!
by: Kathi, Site Owner

Thanks for submitting this review, Craig. It's very comprehensive and informative. Sounds like a great bike; too bad they're not currently shipping them to the U.S.

Hope you keep on having fun with it for some time to come...

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Other Scooter Brands.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines