Lance Cali Classic Scooter Review

by Desre 1
(Chicago, IL)

A Lance Cali Classic scooter

A Lance Cali Classic scooter

I love my Lance Cali Classic scooter, which is made by SYM and the reason I posted this review on this page. It's cute, fast, and fun to ride! But it is failing me.


It takes at least 15 minutes to keep it started before I can enjoy the ride. Tell me this is normal for a brand new scooter. I have had vapor lock (in front of a city bus), the fuel valve has been changed, the floater has been replaced, and it's still choking on its starting and has to be tried over and over.

Comments for Lance Cali Classic Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks for the reviews NEW
by: Mike

I am going to trade in my Wolf Brand 50cc for a 150CC scoot next week. I'm trying to decide between a Genuine Hooligan and a SYM Cali 150. I really like the looks of the Cali. The fit and finish seem to be excellant. This is the nicest Honda Joker clone I've seen, far nicer than the Chinese clones I've observed. The dealer assures me that parts are not an issue and SYM makes a reliable scooter. I'm leaning towards the Cali because I like the feel when I sit on it and it gives me enough leg room (I'm 5'11). I also like the vintage look. It is also $1,100.00 cheaper. If I get the Cali I will add the rear luggage rack and top case for more storage.

Jun 12, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vapor lock NEW
by: Sheila

After many frustrating conversations with the dealer and the factory regarding stalling while cruising along just fine, I took it to a friend who is a mechanic, because the Lance Professionals couldn't figure it out. In plain view, my friend saw that the fuel line was in direct contact with the engine without insulation. Duhhhh. My friend put some insulation on it and for the first time, I was able to take a nice ride without a stall. Look at the top of the engine. Is the fuel line resting on it?

Sheila

Jun 12, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vapor lock NEW
by: Anonymous

After many frustrating conversations with the dealer and the factory regarding stalling while cruising along just fine, I took it to a friend who is a mechanic, because the Lance Professionals couldn't figure it out. In plain view, my friend saw that the fuel line was in direct contact with the engine without insulation. Duhhhh. My friend put some insulation on it and for the first time, I was able to take a nice ride without a stall. Look at the top of the engine. Is the fuel line resting on it?

Sheila

Feb 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cali Classic 125 NEW
by: Anonymous

I've had my Cali Classic 125,for 3 months and already have 18000 miles on it with never a problem

Feb 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cali Classic 125 NEW
by: Anonymous

I've had my Cali Classic 125,for 3 months and already have 18000 miles on it with never a problem

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cali Classic 125
by: Anonymous

I have had my Cali 125 for two months and I love it. I haven't had any mechanical issues. It starts up immediately. So far so good.

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cali Classic fuel vent
by: Ootscoot

On the Cali Classic, the gas tank vent can become clogged. There is a little round check-valve that can fill with gas and restrict the breathing of the gas tank. I usually find that if I remove the cover over the gas tank, look for the little round valve, remove the bottom hose that goes from the tank vent to this check valve, at the valve, the tank breathes easier, and the vacuum lines don't get choked up with gas.(leave the check valve there, with the top hose still connected)

Oct 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Let Us Know
by: Jim Zeiser

Please let us know if it worked out. I keep giving this advice, I'd like to know how it works for someone.

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lance cali classic
by: Anonymous

Thanks Jim, it's worth trying

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Simple Test
by: Jim Zeiser

Put your hand over the inlet of the air filter and partially block it. If the scooter runs better as it warms up your electric choke is goofed up.If you can't manage it with your hand, get masking tape, block part of the inlet and after it warms up tear off the tape. If it warms up better you've found your solution.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - SYM Scooters .

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines