Kymco Super 8 150 Scooter Review

by Jerry Watts
(Shelbyville, Ky)

Kymco Super 8 Scooter

Kymco Super 8 Scooter

The Kymco Super 8 150 is a great scooter. I purchased mine on May 1 2009 and racked up 11,400 miles for the remainder of 2009 with no problems.

Comments for Kymco Super 8 150 Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 03, 2010
Vibration feeling under front of seat.
by: Anonymous

Hi everyone, it is nice being connected to some great scooter enthusiasts. I have a 2010 Super 8 150, bought it new in June and currently has 1,500 miles on it. I have encountered an irritating vibration/vroom sound coming from under the seat in the very front.

Dealer can't really figure it out, so they are going to contact the Kymco to see if they can help with the matter. Has anyone dealt with this problem? If so, what could be the cause of it?

I really enjoy the bike tremendously, and every aspect of it except for the above mentioned problem. Also, how reliable is their customer service if the problem cannot be rectified? Would they work with you for a replacement bike? I would greatly appreciate any form of feedback.

Sep 28, 2010
by: Jim Zeiser

The drive belt could be stretched and slipping a little making the scooter rev more than it should. You don't say how many miles it has but if it's more than 5,000 it could be time for a new one.

Sep 13, 2010
kymco super 8 150
by: Anonymous

I just bought a super 8 150 used and wasnt sure how it should be sounding when its driving. It seems to me like its working harder than it should be. how do i tell?? if anyone has answers please email me at im not sure how the revving on it should sound. it is used and we have a brand new one which sounds soo smooth but of course that one would considering its new. Any answers are appreciated, thanks.

Aug 15, 2010
A Great Bike
by: Chuck

I've had my Super 8 150 for a little over a year now and am very pleased with it. The ride is comfortable, and I have really put it through its paces on highways, rough roads, off road, city, and bad weather. As someone else said, the speedometer is a bit off.

I like the power though would not mind a bit more to truly cruise on highways. It's comfortable enough with its very thin foam seat. My old Honda Hawk motorcycle had more cushion but no storage.

I love the looks I get from people as well as the comments from guys who say, "Yeah, I could see myself on one of those." It's a cool looking bike.

But the best thing is the utter reliability. When I want it to go, it goes. Every time.

Aug 12, 2010
Front tire vibration/ humming
by: Anonymous

I recently purchased a 2010 Super 8 150. I am very disappointed with the ride. I have noticed and feel a vibration/ humming sound coming from the front tire. The dealer couldn't find anything out of the ordinary, but he checked the balance and ordered a new tire. Just got it back today with the new tire and it still didn't make a difference. I thought Kymco made a superior scooter, I'll stick with the TGB. Much smoother ride.

Jul 24, 2010
New Kymco Super 8 150
by: Anonymous

I have a Super 8 150 and really like it. I've driven in downtown Raleigh and like the power to scoot around traffic. Though it has the power to cruise at 55 mph, I found out my speedometer is 5 mph slow. Hmmmm. I stay off the interstates and stick to the side streets.

Brakes are tight and the bike is well balanced.
It's still too new to comment on the reliability, but I am impressed with its build quality.

May 24, 2010
by: Jim Zeiser

You guys are cool. I don't even do that many miles on my Kawasaki. The weather must be nice where you live or you're the most ambitious riders I know. I have a friend who just sold a 28 year old Yamaha 650 with only 28,000 miles. You put him to shame. My 9 year old Kawasaki only has 19,000 miles. It's practically new by comparison to what you guys are doing.

May 24, 2010
Kymco Super 8
by: Izzy

I'm glad to hear that. I have a Roketa 150cc scooter. I've had it for about 3 years, and I'm just adjusting the valves on it. It's a great riding scooter. I've got to replace the tires on it now. I have around 30,000 miles on mine. Still rides and looks good.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Kymco Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines