Kymco GV 250 Scooter Review

by Paul Sarnoff

A Kymco GV 250 Scooter

A Kymco GV 250 Scooter

The Kymco Grand Vista 250 is my daily ride. Early on, it was fast and reliable. Seat was a brick. Less than two years I started to have mechanical problems (brakes) "warranty" magically did not cover the parts or labor (calipers, pads or disks). Numerous e-mails and letters - including registered mail to the company - have gone unanswered. Totally disappointed. There are no more Kymco scooters in my future.

Comments for Kymco GV 250 Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 07, 2011
I like mine!
by: catman 2130093

I bought mine second hand w/3600 miles. 1K miles later,no troubles at all. The factory seat is uncomfortable-I'm 5-11,but that is the only gripe I have. I ride on mostly 2 lane 55 mph highways, running a GPS determined 60-65 mph. 2009 model-very happy.

Jun 23, 2010
I was not clear.
by: Anonymous

My CALIPERS cracked, lost hydraulic fluid, pads shifted, rotor scored. Happened @4800 miles from NEW. Wrote, mailed, e-mailed, registered letter to manufacturer - NEVER acknowledged much less answered. Bought Burgman 400. Great ride. ALMOST as comfortable as a Helix, great power/weight. Easy to handle - and the handling is very good...great choice. I strongly recommend it. In all fairness though, maintenance is relatively expensive or time consuming on average if you do your own wrenching.

Mar 30, 2010
Brakes not under warranty?
by: Anonymous

I bet if it gets dirty, that's not covered either.

Nov 21, 2009
Brake warranty
by: Anonymous

The driving habits of some people absolutely destroy brakes... This is why there is no warranty on them... with any type of vehicle unless you buy some kind of special policy which some people would be well advised to do. I could toast a set of brakes in 2 days if I wanted to and some people drive as if they are out to do just that.

Jun 22, 2009
by: SVX

Brakes are never covered under any kind of warranty. Pads, and rotors are wear and tear items. Same goes for your car or truck.

Jun 05, 2009
kymco grand vista 250
by: wayne

I only have my grand vista for about 3mos but so far I love this scoot It has a quick pickup off the line it rides very nice and the price was right the seat is a little uncomfortable that the only thing i don't like but everything els is good.

Mar 02, 2009
by: Kathi

Thanks for taking the time to leave this review, Paul. It caught me by surprise, because all of the other reviews of Kymcos left here have been favorable. But I'm not sure any of those people have had their scooter as long or tried to contact the company either, which may be why they're still happy!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Kymco Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines