125cc Wildfire Scooter Review

by Larry
(Selinsgrove, PA)

My (2005) 125cc wildfire scooter has 5600 miles on it and it's still running great. I can't speak for others but I personally think it has a lot to do with regular servicing. I know many that have had problems and when you really pressed for answers they pretty much say the same thing, "No I haven't serviced the scooter since I owned it."

Granted there are some bad Chinese scooters but I think a lot of problems begin with the owner and not the scooter.


Comments for 125cc Wildfire Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 30, 2012
scooter NEW
by: Anonymous

Jim, i agree...

Aug 30, 2012
interested... NEW
by: Anonymous

the old man can work on it...but it's getting the parts...well, i won't buy the one i saw...thanks everyone for the input...

Apr 28, 2011
05 wildfire
by: Anonymous

I have a 05 wildfire scooter and I have a problem with it bogging down when I have rode for about 30 mins. Like it doesn't want to take the gas or something. Like it's starving for air.

Aug 08, 2010
Excuse Me
by: Jim Zeiser

If you've read this site enough times we've listed www.partsforscooters.com, www.absolutelyscooters.net and www.rapidrepairpowersports.com as places to get parts for Chinese scooters. Even my friend John at GS Motorworks 1-888-400-3253 can help you out with many of the parts you need for these things.

It's not like buying parts for a Ducati or Aprilia. Plus these GY6 scooters are so easy to work on a lawn mower repair shop could do it as long as you remove the plastic panels and relieve their pain.

Oh-and I've been working on bikes for almost 50 years.

Jul 28, 2010
Wildfire scooters
by: Hugh

In my opinion, Wildfire scooters are like most Chinese scooters, not reliable. Too many problems with quality. No one to service them. Have been working on my own motorcycles for 30 years. Can't get parts for them, if you want a part, a picture must be sent with order. Too many variations of parts. I do keep mine running, only because I'm familiar with how they work. Would not recommend them to anyone... buy a Honda, Kawasaki or Suzuki.

Jul 04, 2010
by: Anonymous

I need info for Wildfire 2005 ...125cc....need to find battery supplier or replacement battery for gtx7-bs battery.

Jun 11, 2010
Gas mileage for the Wildfire, etc.?
by: Bill

What miles-per-gallon are you getting from the 125cc Wildfire? Also have you made any changes to the scooter that may help the performance.

Thanks for the review!

Apr 06, 2010
Go Get 'Em
by: Jim Zeiser

I don't know how Wildfire scooters were in 2005 but if you have 5600 miles on yours you must be doing something right. Keep it flying. I always say people who think Chinese scooters are junk are people who don't know a ratchet from a speed handle.

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines