Yamaha Classic 50cc 4-Stroke Scooter Review

by Bradley
(Springfield, IL USA)

The Yamaha Classic 50cc scooter is a great little scooter for getting around town. No worry about finding a place to park. Excellent quality and Dealer support.

It will take anything you can give it. Gas mileage around 95+ mpg. Good acceleration. Top speed is around 38 mph, would be a better if a little faster. And it is strictly a one person scooter.

Comments for Yamaha Classic 50cc 4-Stroke Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 31, 2011
Top Speed
by: Eros

The Classic 50cc 4T top speed is limited to 38 mph by the CDI. It does not have any exhaust or transmission restrictions, washers, etc. Period!!! If you want to increase top speed and acceleration, remove the stock rollers from the variator and replace them with 3.5 or 4.0 Dr Pulley sliders. You will increase top speed 3-4 mph and greatly increase acceleration. But along with that comes a slight reduction in gas mileage.

Mar 13, 2011
No Restriction
by: Phil Piburn

Wife and I took off the exhaust and found out I
have no washer or restriction of any kind in my
2004. I'm 250 and it will do 40-42 on a flat.

Mar 13, 2011
50cc 4T Classic review
by: Sarge

I have an 07 4T Classic. 36-37 mph top speed in the real world. The stock scooter has an rpm restricted CDI and 38 is max top speed. I weight 190 lbs and also have problems bottoming out on rough roads. But the ride does will soften up some after a couple thousand miles. My gas mileage averages around 90 mpg. Some mods are coming out for the 4T but they are very limited and expensive.

Aug 14, 2010
Have I been De-Restricked?
by: Philip R Piburn

Just bought a 2004 2 stroke Vino Classic. Trying to find out if you all think it's had the washer removed from the exhaust. I weigh 250 and can go
35 up hill.

On flat 37-38. When I hit a slight dip in the road I can bury the speedo and then some 43mph or so. The guy I bought it from has had it for 5 years and he has done nothing to it.

Just seems to run very good for a 49cc. I'm happy. I guess someday I'll pull off the exhaust to see if it has the washer there or not. What do you all think?

Dec 25, 2009
Yamaha Classic
by: Harold

Dave. Where did you get the 170 pound limit? If you got it out of the operators, manual, it is a mistake. The limit is close to 220. The reason you are bottoming out is because the rear shock has just a 2-3" travel.

Change the shock and you should be OK. Also there is no washer in the transmission variator. Speed can be increased by changing the rollers in the variator, but it will cost you some acceleration.

Dec 16, 2009
Some "larger person" problems
by: Dave

I have an 07 Vino Classic, 50cc.. I love the scooter and can live with the 37 m/h max but at my current size I am way over the 170 lb. limit for this scooter's single rear shock.

Yes, by spring I will have lost some weight but even at my best weight ever I'm too large for this and right now I bottom put. I'd like to find a heavier duty aftermarket shock but haven't located anything yet.

If I don't ruin this poor little thing before I'll probably try to upgrade to a Zuma 125, which has dual rear shocks and a much more convenient speed.

Incidentally, with the Classic, if you go down a steep hill you will still top out at 37 m/p, it's a built in limit, can be slightly increased by removing a washier in the transmission but may affect acceleration and insurance.

Sep 19, 2009
Yamaha Classic 4-T
by: NoWhereFast

I have an 08 Yamaha Classic 50cc 4-T scooter. So far it has been an excellent scooter for getting around town and running errands, etc. Good accleration, getting an avg of 90 mpg, max speed for me is around 36-37 mph (I am a larger person). I have a question for anyone.

Apr 09, 2009
by: Kathi

Your Yamaha Classic sounds like a real fun ride, Bradley. Thanks so much for posting this review. Yamaha seems to be a solid scooter manufacturer.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Yamaha Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines