Suzuki Burgman 400cc Motor Scooter Review

by Kimmyjoe
(Cape Breton, Nova Scotia)

There are so many things to like about the Burgie. First of all I have a small 125 Kinetic Catan Scooter which I still use for little zips around town. Now the Suzuki Burgman, class act. I can keep up with no problem with my boyfriend on his 1200cc Harley (much to his dismay).

It is still very good on gas and travels the rough roads and mountains here in Cape Breton. I can pack enough under the seat to do a weekend tour without having to add bags or a roll to it. If you are looking for a great touring scoot, take a Suzuki Burgman for a test.

Comments for Suzuki Burgman 400cc Motor Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 26, 2015
Great site - recommend NEW
by: Anons

You can find more details about kids scooter here.
it doesn't look like a scooter.check this

Apr 22, 2013
What is a scooter? NEW
by: Anonymous

Both the Stella and some older Vespa's were manual shift. The new BMW 650 GT isn't really a step through unless you have very long legs; more like a step over.

Mar 17, 2011
Anonymous = false information
by: Rider

"Many scooters do not use a step through design and not all scooters are automatic."

That is a completely erroneous statement.

I've yet to see a scooter that does NOT use a step through design; and I've done a TON of research over the last few years while buying/selling scooters and other bikes. In fact, I would dare say that the step through design is one of the things that makes a scooter a scooter.

Also, I've yet to see a scooter that is not automatic.

Anonymous does NOT know what he/she is talking about.

Jul 28, 2009
In addition
by: Ron Goldwyn

One additional thought, and that is only vehicles classified as motorcycles my use the high speed highways that have a minimum speed of 35 mph. Yes there are other requirements, but I've hit the major ones.
Remember also thar vehicles with two or three wheels that the operator stands on with one leg and pushes with the other is also called a SCOOTER. As a handicapped person I also have a power chair and an electric scooter supplied by The Scooter Store.

Jul 28, 2009
If it walks like a duck
by: Ron Goldwyn

Dear Anons,
Automobiles come in all different sizes and shapes and almost all have four wheels. Some have the engine in front and others in the rear, yet they remain an automobile and require a state drivers license.
In the State of CT if a vehicle has an engine of 49 cc or less and is street equiped it is classified as a motor assisted bike or a moped. The operator MUST have a state drivers license so that 16 or younger children may not operate on city or state roads.They also must twist and go without a transmission.
If the 2 or 3 wheeled vehicle has an engine greater than 49cc, my state classifies them as motorcycles. Regardless of their looks, method of mounting, location of fuel tank, weight,number of passengers and maximum speed. These vehicles MUST be registered by the state and bear license plates. They are also taxed as real property, just as automobiles, real estate and houses. As for the operator they must have a motorcycle license in addition to their drivers license for cars. In CT we must also have licenses for boats with engines and/or motors and a special licence for what I call Seados or water scooters.
Thus I cannot speak for all states, but in my state even if it looks, walks and talks like a duck, if it has a 49+cc engine it is a MOTORCYCLE in the eyes of the government.

Jul 28, 2009
Actually neither is true,
by: Anonymous

Many scooters do not use a step through design and not all scooters are automatic. The CVT on most scooters and rear engine placement along with the way the engine is hung/attached is what differentiates a scooter from a motorcycle.

The vast majority of scooters have engines which unlike motorcycles are placed in the rear and are not attached to the frame but hung from an engine hanger.

Jul 15, 2009
why a scooter and not a motorcycle
by: Anonymous

In response to why do we label these scooters just that and not a motorcycle is simple to the avid scooter owner/rider. Scooters no matter what the size have two distinct differences than a motorcycle... one they all have step through instead of full leg over, and secondly they are all twist and go so not clutching or shifting. That's what makes a scooter a scooter and thank goodness for SCOOTERS!

Jul 10, 2009
by: Ron Goldwyn

Why do we label this size bike a scooter? To me it is a small motorcycle.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Suzuki Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines