Prodigy 150cc Scooter Review

by Nina Saini
(Richmond, VA)

I am not too happy with this Prodigy scooter, and I'm starting to think that you get what you pay for. An amazing $789 for a 150cc, 16 inch wheels. Nice looking. $239 for shipping.

I have owned it 2 mos and put on 45 miles. I am afraid to get on to the big roads so ride it in my neighborhood. When it arrived, it did not start properly and eventually the battery died. The brakes didn't work.

I had to get it repaired from Apollo scooters in Houston TX for $300. Now it runs, but stalls at almost every stop sign. I am so disappointed. It has carburetor issues and I am going to get a motorcycle mechanic to look at it.

I am so disgusted with Happy Scooters in California.

Comments for Prodigy 150cc Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 13, 2015
parts for 150cc prodigy NEW
by: Anonymous

Does anyone know where to reliably get parts.for this scooter.

Jul 08, 2014
Longbo Prodigy NEW
by: Anonymous

I actually was given a Prodigy scooter. It had set up over a year and did not run. I found that the carburetor was all gummed up from the gas sitting in it all that time. It had been layed down so the body parts were all broken up on one side.
Anyway I determined to get it running again and use it to commute to work.
I found an online parts house where I could get all of the parts necessary to make it road-worthy.
I went ahead and bought a new carburetor for it, installed it, and replaced the battery just because. It started right up and after adjusting the carb, it now purrs like a kitten.
As for the body, I bought a fiberglass repair kit from a local discount store (we all know what that was LOL)and repaired the broken panels. They are now stronger than they were before.
I took all of the body parts off and painted them and the bike looks like a new one. My friends and family are amazed and the one that gave me the bike says that it looks and runs better than it did when it was new.
Performance wise I couldn't be happier. It is a peppy 150cc and I ride it down a 4-lane 25 miles round trip. Gas milage is great and so far I have no complaints with the way it runs.

Oct 31, 2012
Value, Cost, and reliability NEW
by: Hackney71

I bought a 150cc Prodigy from a pawn shop. The owner pawned it because they could never get it running right. It "sat up" for over a year with gas in it. $30 battery at walmart, $2.10 Champion z9y plug (buy a few b/c the "Crush Gasket" doesn't seal correctly a second time once it has been tightened down), 2 gallons fresh gas. I took the carb apart and cleaned it completely. I use 3" piece of center solid copper wire from a coax cable (RG6)to clean slow jet, fast jet and small ports in carb. Big trick, Trace ground from Battery to frame, disconnect and file or brush paint away and reconnect and other side of bike where engine is grounded to frame do the same. I am 6'3" and 245lbs. The bike will maintain 45mph over hills, ride 55-60 on flats and hit 65-70 down hills.

Dec 03, 2011
Great Scooter but parts are hard to find
by: Beetle Scooter

It's a great scooter but the parts are hard to find. For instance, I broken the right break lever and some of the dealers who sell the Prodigy scooter can't find the part for it.

So beware.

Nov 18, 2011
I like my prodigy scooter now :)
by: NINA

it took a while but I got my bike tweaked and tuned..... its riding well now and I used it to commute to work (8 mile roundtrip) I have got it gong as fast as 60 mph.
I had to have the battery area modified. These Chinese bikes have acid batteries that are designed to lay on their side. This is not right and can be dangerous because acid can leak... and thus the battery can lose its connnectivity. A friend of mind made adjustments and remodelled the foot floor area so that the battery stands up vertically.
I am wondering of anyone else has had problems with their battery laying sideways>?

Nov 18, 2011
nice bike
by: gregory aiken

Very happy with mine. had it going on 12 months only problem ive had was the casing that holds the light,speedomiter etc, broke off the frame of the bike and I had to strap it down with 'click' strips. Ive put 5000 miles on it and it 'cranks up still on a dime'SATISFIED CUSTOMER

Oct 25, 2011
Agree with Jim
by: Chakra

I own a Baja 50cc scoot and worked on three other Chinese scoots following scootdawg's forum's PDI guideline on prepping the scoot out of the box. Chinese scoots should only be bought by someone who is willing to give up some free time, willing to get their hands dirty, and have some wrenches to turn. What you save in money upfront you will need to pay for with time, but if you spend that time in the beginning and eliminate the small stuff then it becomes like any other bike and you're simply doing maintenance.

I've put about 5k miles on my scoot since I did the PDI and the only things I did was optional services like going with a kevlar belt and better tires after the PDI. On one of my friend's 150cc scoot, a Roketa I had to adjust her valves since it was dying at intersections and it came from the factory clamped down too tight and out of tolerance. My friends don't put as much mileage on theirs as I did mine but the seem to be responsible and most people don't know what they're getting into when they buy these. These bikes aren't simply pay and drive, it doesn't have the polish of a local dealer's scoot lineup with mad customers coming back in front of new customers with visible complaints, and have to realize that labor is usually the first thing compromised on any item of discounted value.

Jun 27, 2011
Do Your Research
by: Scooter Rider

If you value your money in buying any scooter (or any product for that matter) do your research.

Since you had your heart set on going online to buy a scooter you should have stopped by scooter dealers in your area and asked questions about the vehicles. Heck, you can go on YOUTUBE where there is a treasure trove of information on scooter maintenance, tips and troubleshooting.

The original poster problem is that there were no PDI (Pre-Delivery Inspection) which means the owner did not go over the scooter with a fine tooth comb and did things like tighten the screws, drain both the gear and motor oil, put high octane gas in the tank and/or use gas additive, check all the lights to name a few.

If you are not willing to turn a wrench you should have bought it from a dealer.

Apr 14, 2011
Thanks for Providing Some Balance...
by: Kathi, Site Owner

Thanks to the previous poster, the dealer, who gave such detail on how buying a Prodigy scooter can be a good choice, as long as you know what you are getting into.

Your comments reinforce what Jim Z. has said over and over throughout this site. Having a local dealer/mechanic or being able to do the work yourself is ESSENTIAL. Chinese scooters can be a great deal, if you understand how to take care of them.

Thanks again for your detailed comments.

Apr 13, 2011

I am a Longbo Dealer and have sold numerous Prodigy models. The main thing about these bikes buy them from a local dealer. Bikes bought online are never dealer prepped and adjusted correctly. I have over 13000 miles on my Prodigy. No major mechanical issues, just routine maintenance.

Buy local! I hardly ever see our local sales in for service, versus the online shipped bikes calling because a bolt is loose or the carburetor need adjusted. The Prodigy is a wonderful product but you do have to have them prepped and assembled by someone with some motorcycle experience.

They will not start right out of the box. It takes time for the gas to get to the carb and fill the bowl. Most batteries will run down. Remove seat, prime carb by sucking on vacuum line or prefilling carb and it should start.

Online sales are totally different from local sales. A local price for a Prodigy will be $1500-1800. An internet price will be $900-$1000. You are saving the dealer prep and not paying for the expertise of the local shop. Dealers do have to make a profit, pay labor, lights and overhead.

Online sales average a profit of $80-$200 per bike. You will get very little if any service. I am located in Missouri and it is hard to service anything in New Jersey. If you are not capable of changing a spark plug, adjusting a carburetor, bleeding brakes, and changing oil I would highly suggest to not buy online.

If you are mechanically inclined, it is a great opportunity to save some money and get a really good bargain. Brand is irrelevant. Very few bikes (no matter the brand) run perfectly out of the box.

The Prodigy is a great bike for the money. The appearance is very similar to the Honda 150si. It will do 70mph ad get 75-85mpg. The 16" wheels make it handle great and it is a very good bike for taller riders over 6'. The Honda is $4299.

Scooters are supposed to be affordable transportation. The Prodigy has been just that. My two year cost is: bike cost $1500, 2 tires, $150, battery $50, CDI $15, 4 fuel filters $20. 13 oil changes ad 6 gear oil changes $130, 5 spark plugs $10, coil wire $15, brake pads $30, throttle cable $20. Total two year cost and maintenance $1940.

That is an ownership cost only 15 cents per mile. Are they as good as a Honda? Probably not, but a good alternative. I would rather take by family to Disney World with the extra $3000 saved... Jonway is another really good product for the money. Hope this helps.

Apr 04, 2011
by: Jim Zeiser

If it's stalling at stops it's either time to check the valve clearances or the connection at the CDI unit. Or the CDI unit is going bad, it happens. Don't go ballistic. They're cheap. I got one for $15, shipped, from a parts place.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines