Lance Cali Classic 125cc Scooter Review (Built by SYM)

by Katherine
(Santa Barbara)

I am currently enjoying riding the Lance Cali Classic 125cc scooter built by SYM. It is similar in looks to the Lance Vintage, but far superior in all respects.


The build is tight and right - up to SYM's quality standard. The ride is fun! - the 12" front wheel gives it excellent tracking. The 125cc ceramic lined engine runs smooth and has enough power for bopping around town. It is very zippy but I would love to see this in a 150cc.

It does not have much storage space, but there is now an option for a rear rack and cargo box.
The Cali has proven to be very reliable - starts right up every time, so far (5,000 mi.) there are no problems with this bike, except the rear tire is wearing.

The price is very good for the quality, and my dealer tells me there have been no problems with parts, unlike Carter Bros.

Overall I am very pleased with this scooter and recommend it to those looking for an affordable step up from the cheap Chinese scoots.

-->

Comments for Lance Cali Classic 125cc Scooter Review (Built by SYM)

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 06, 2016
Rating
star
Tow truck came and got mine less than 24 hours after purchase. NEW
by: Christina

I bought a 2016 Lance 125cc Havanna Classic yesterday at 2pm. At 6pm the engine wouldn't start. It took me 3 hrs, two cops, and countless friends on the phone helping me to finally get it started again. This morning, it wouldn't start and sadly I just spent $125 towing the thing back to SF MOTO, not even 2 miles from my house. I've had it less than 24 hours and now I have no scooter, an expensive jacket, helmet and gloves that I can't use and a lot of wasted time and energy. My first scooter and I am simply petrified to use this scooter again in San Francisco with all of our lovely hills. I exhausted half a tank of gas trying to start it and it only has 15 miles. Shaken my sdn head at Lance and Frank the dealer who assured me there have been no issues with the bike starting up. The internet tells a different story, but thought the issue had been fixed after 2010 edition.

May 23, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lance motor scooter 2012 cali classic 125 NEW
by: mdi

Bought brand new 02 / 2016.Today's date 05/23/2016. 4000miles and doing oil and transmission fluid change and then add on as led lighting, trunk,and windshield. loving it so far. Tallahassee, florida.

May 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2015 Lance Cali Classic NEW
by: Larry

March 16, 2015 I purchased a new (my first) Scooter, after researching several brands, I decided to go with Lance. The price was right, the look was right and now that I've logged 800 miles, I can tell you the honest truth, I am very satisfied with my Lance Cali Classic 125.

I just wish that could connect with other Lance owners and start sometime like a fellowship and ride together.

Larry
San Diego

May 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2012 Cali Classic 125 NEW
by: Chuck

No issues no problems. I've already put 900 miles on it commuting to work and taking it to go surf in the mornings. It's started right up every time, I've been getting about 73 mpg, riding between 40 and 50 mph on my commute. I'm 6'6" and weigh in at 235 lbs and it's had no problems lugging me around.

The only issue I've experienced is the suspension is a little soft, the rear end will bottom out on occasion. Other than that I'd recommend this bike highly.

Sep 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cali 125 Great
by: KEITH

One month and 500 miles...the Cali Classic 125 is great so far. Not thrilled with the dealer as any after sale situations such as plate, sticker, registration and title all poorly handled. I would buy another Cali 125 today but not from the same dealer.

The only concern I now have is finding maintenance parts such as air filter, plug, fuel filter, etc., I just can't find them. Any help would be appreciated.

Mar 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
10,000 miles-9 months! NO PROBLEMS!!
by: Rome

10,000 miles-9 months! NO PROBLEMS!! Driven daily, just change the oil and normal wear and tear items. Mine is the ONLY blue metalic in the US. It draws attention where ever I go in the LA/OC area! Rome (949) 413-5177

Oct 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
feed up!
by: Anonymous

I wish I could say the same, I have had the following problems: vapor lock twice, replaced floater- ran out of fuel, replaced fuel value and still wont start the first time anytime!

Aug 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You'd Be Surprised
by: Jim Zeiser

The Cali Classic has beeen so well received by people that Lance has dropped all their other cheap Chinese scooters and is looking to raise their product line with new, better acquisitions.

Aug 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sounds LIke a Winner
by: Kathi

Wow! Great review, Katherine! This is what I like to see... tons of detail and reasons why you feel as you do about your scooter, good or bad.

Your Lance/SYM scooter sure sounds like it offers great value! Hope you have many years of scooter fun ahead of you... :)

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - SYM Scooters .

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines