Keeway Venus 50cc Motor Scooter Review

by Don
(Winston Salem, NC)

The Keeway Venus 50cc

The Keeway Venus 50cc

This scooter is the classic double-edged sword. On one hand, it was cheap ($1495 before tax), it's cute as can be, and is so small and compact it practically fits in the trunk of the car. It really turns heads as it goes by at 35mph.


However, at a standstill you really start to see that you get what you pay for. The parts are all plastic and fairly cheap in both design and quality. It's really almost "toy-like". Right out of the box I had a faulty speedometer, inoperable turn signal, and brake performance better suited to a big wheel than a motor vehicle. No problem, still fun as can be to ride, just leave more room to stop right?

The engine is a self mixing 2 stroke with separate tanks for oil/gas. This self mixing has been the biggest issue thus far. Whenever the scooter sits overnight or for a day or two, the carb apparently fills with oil and if you manage to get it to start, it fills the neighborhood with smoke for about 4-5 minutes. Seriously!

Recently the rear wheel has begun to vibrate at higher speeds which is subtle but just enough to induce serious butt pucker as you imagine the road rash if the wheel falls off at 35mph. The dealer where I bought my bike hasn't been able to fix the smoking issue yet and the bike is in the shop again now (2nd time in 170miles) for the vibrating issue (man I hope they find that and fix it!).

Another issue I have is with the silly remote key fob ignition system. Who in the world thought it would be smart to put remote start on a scooter? I was upstairs in my house one day with the scooter parked in the basement garage. Apparently the key fob button got pushed while in my pocket and the scooter started up on its own and must have been running for 20-30 minutes as the garage was full of smoke!! NOT GOOD! Can anyone say "Carbon Monoxide"!

That said, I knew I wasn't buying a Ducati. The thing is still a hoot to tool around on. But if you're looking for a daily commuter, I would look elsewhere.

Comments for Keeway Venus 50cc Motor Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Suleman Mirza NEW
by: Anonymous

This is really an amazing information about Keeway Venus 50cc motor scooter, that will help you a lot to make a good decision. Visit our website dissertation writing bigbangdissertation.com which is most amazing and successful educational networking website with all important products and services.

Aug 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Venus Rocket NEW
by: Derek C B

I'd like to apologize for a type-o in my last comment/review,but what I meant to say was,buy me a BEER and not a BEAR!!!Man I hate correct spell!!!Aloha y'all!!!;-D

Aug 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Venus Rocket NEW
by: Derek C B

Well I got bored putt putting around at 35mph,so I installed a big bore 72cc kit,and now I don't just keep up with traffic,I'm passing traffic!!! I Love my 09 Venus,well now that it can putt around at 80mph!!!If anyone out there would like to go a little faster than 35,I can help!!!You buy the parts and I'll do the work for free,maybe buy me a bear after!!!Aloha and keep the rubber side down!!!;-D

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good post NEW
by: Ms. Rene Kling

What a great blog you have!
May I ask you to place some ads of my site Safes4gun on you blog?
I really love your awesome site and want to offer good money for ads on your site! Please, answer me and let's discuss all the details!

Thank you very much!

Feb 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fun, reliable
by: Lara bernal

I have about 2k miles on my scoot...I haven't had one problem. I live in Maui and get the squeaky brakes from the salt and humidity, but besides that it my main mode of transportation and I get around perfectly with no problems! I bought mine cash $900 including everything brand new and it looks like I really scored! Couldn't be a happier rider of the Keeway Venus scooter!!

Aug 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keeway Scooter
by: Anonymous

I have a 2010 Venus and have had no problems except for squeeky breaks at the start but its from the salt water in the air and dirt build up. I dont know where this other guy got his from but mine has been super..

Jul 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keeway Throttle cable
by: Anonymous

I love my Keeway Venus but... have had a rough time getting throttle cable replacements. This is the 2nd summer I have had to wait 3 weeks for the part and fix. Bummer! Any suggestions out there?

Jul 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just got mine today
by: Anonymous

I just purchased one used and so far so good! the owner before me just got new brakes on it so it squeeks a lil when I go to stop but I figure the more I use it that sound will probably not be as bad. She is Light blue and tan and I LOVE HER ALREADY so far so good. No complaints

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
KEEWAY SCOOTER PARTS
by: Anonymous

If anyone needes parts for a KEEWAY scooter, contact scootersplusct@yahoo.com We carry in stock or can order almost all KEEWAY parts direct from KEEWAY.

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keeway Venus Rebuttle
by: Anonymous

I sell KEEWAY scooters and do not seem to have the problems with the VENUS as described in the review. My suggestion is to have the dealer where you bought the scooter from adjust the oil pump cable or the throttle cable at the carb to eliminate the oil burn at stert up. If the two cables are not adjusted properly the oil cable will pull before the throttle cable and load oil into the carb. To check if the cables are adjusted properly, twist the throttle grip slowley and see when you feel a slight resistance. If the resistance feels like it is two stage, that is it increases, than your throttle cable is not engaging at the same time your oil cable is.
By the way, the Honda and Yamaha and all other scooters besides Vespa all have plastic bodies.
The best thing about KEEWAY is the overall quality and company support. Buy any other no name or importer produced scooter and you will know what I mean.





Jan 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Parts
by: Anonymous

Does anybosy know where to get parts for one of these? I need a turn signal lense.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
my scooter
by: Anonymous

I just got my venus scooter a blalk an white one . It is just great i am 280 in weight an it catties me just great. its more fun then a barrel of monkeys. I just love it.

Jun 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love it
by: ceile

Hi I have a 2008 Keeway Venus. It is so good on gas, I go everywhere with it. I already got 5000 miles on it. It does sound a lot but I am having a greatest time with it.

Sep 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Venus 50 GRRREAT
by: Bas

Bought my Venus a year ago. I have 632 miles. I had a carb issue leaking gas that the dealer fixed. It has been very reliable and I get a lot of comments on how good it looks. Tan and white. I use it all most every day for errands around town. Sure there is some plastic but $1000 isn't much money these days. I like it for what it is.

Aug 19, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ms. Venus Flies!
by: Sally Baldwin

I have now put over 700 miles my '08 Venus after purchasing it this spring with only 10 miles on it. It was only $1,200. I use it to commute 6 rural miles to work on non-rainy days. I've never ridden one before and it was very easy to teach myself. I've ridden a lot on a bicycle, so being in traffic, cornering and riding to the right was similar...only much more fun! And I always wear a hi-visibility vest. It accelerates fast and easily goes 35-40 mph on flat terrain.

The other comments were correct about the cheap plastic fenders and other parts. I had a problem with the front fender wearing down in the back where it rubbed on the tire because the front shocks were too soft. A reliable motorcycle shop was able to adjust the springs' tension for me. (There are no front fork shocks, just springs...hence an addition of heavier pneumatic oil wouldn't have solved this problem.) As a result, I would not recommend the Venus to carry more than 185-200 lbs. It's cute as a button but even the other bigger motorcyclists wave at me sometime! Mine is black and white and it kind of looks like it belongs to a police clown in the circus!

Aug 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Venus 50
by: J

My wife just got her Venus 50 and she loves it. We have put 30 miles in the first few days and no problems. Everyone looks as we go by. We know the neighbors are envious. I have been riding tandem with her driving. Together we weigh about 250 and it does great. I am getting one soon. Keep you posted. J

Sep 25, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keeway Update
by: Don Jones

Just an update on my review. The dealer did get the issues worked out on my Keeway. All is well in that respect.

Sep 25, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great Review, Don!
by: Kathi

Thanks for the balanced review, Don. You can really tell all the pros and cons from what you've written. Hope you enjoy scootin on your "toy" and maybe one day you'll be able to move up to a really high quality scooter like the Genuine brand.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews - Other Scooter Brands.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines