CFMOTO V5 Review

by Larry Brown
(Cape Cod, MA USA)

V5

V5

I've followed this bike for several years before making up my mind. Sold as the QLink Legacy, CFMOTO is the importer. Spoke to a number of satisfied owners and dealers. NOw I'm riding a high-visibility yellow V5. Its drive train shared its design with the Honda Reflex and Helix 250cc engines. My local Honda guy says it's essentially the same - which is reassuring.


Pick-up at the light is comparable to the Honda Reflex. Cruise at 60-65 all day. I like the scooter-like drive train with the CVT belt drive. The bike offers a good rider's position. I rotated my handlebars down a tiny bit to improve my posture.

The big wheels offer increased stability going down the road. Gas consumption seems to be 65-70 MPG. Starts INSTANTLY first touch, runs quietly. It's a good-looking machine and I get a lot of questions. Favorite so far: a guy on a Harley who said he might get one to commute to work. (His Harley burns through too much gas.)

The V5 has a radio MP3 player - useless at speed (can't hear it - although the neighbors can) but I'll keep it to check weather forecasts on trips.

I recommend the bike. It's got all the qualities I've loved scooters for plus advantages of its own.

Buy from a dealer. True for all 2 wheelers. Have service & advice on your side. My dealer is finding the bikes pretty trouble-free.

Comments for CFMOTO V5 Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 15, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
license NEW
by: Anonymous

Do you need a motorcycle license for these bikes. Tex me 6032610792..

Jan 02, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Scooter NEW
by: fat diminisher reviews

Now women also can ride a bike.

Sep 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
New NEW
by: Larry

Took the carb off the V5 again, made sure all the jets are clear, and put a kit in it. The adjustment screw was in all the way, so I backed it out 1 3/4 turns, but it still flutters when it's accelerated up about 15 mph.Then it takes off like it should. Does the adjustment screw need to be turned out some more? I can loosen the carb and turn it to do that if I have to. Thanks for reading.butane

Aug 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Clog NEW
by: Larry

Thank you, Jim. I will ride it for a while with the seafoam in the tank, then if that doesn't take care of it, will rebuild the carb. Have a good Sunday.

Aug 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Idle Circuit NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

What you are describing sounds like a clog in the idle jet. At 15 mph it probably transitions to the the needle jet. It may unclog in time or doing the rebuild should fix it. Have fun and stay in touch.

Aug 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Same NEW
by: Larry

The vacuum lines seem okay, and there are no leaks, and it still runs the same. It idles fine and kind of flutters until it reaches about 15mph, then takes off and runs fine. I will insure and license and insure it, but will pick up a carb kit and rebuild it. Have a good day everyone.

Aug 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Same NEW
by: Larry

Thanks, Jim....I'll do that in the morning. Right now it's 4:40 pm, and still over 105 degrees out there. Just a tad bit warm yet! Or maybe tonight just when the sun goes down, it's not too bad out then.

Aug 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Same Comments NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

I would check the lines. Also while it's sitting and idling spray WD-40 around the carb and intake manifold. If anything is leaking there the idle will pick up. Also make sure you don't hear a hissing coming from anywhere. That would signify a vacuum leak. Spray around the intake manifold to check for leaks there too.

Aug 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ride NEW
by: Larry

Took the V5 out for a ride today, then my son did too. Got some time and a few miles on it with seafoam in the gas. It is better, but still has a stumble in it until about 15mph, then takes off just fine with no more stumbling. I'm thinking maybe when I put the carb back in I might have got a vacumn line crossed? I don't think so, but any more ideas from anyone? On payday (Sept 3rd) I will get it insured and go to the DMV and get it licensed as it is rideable now. The cooling fan comes on fine, and everything else seems to work just fine. I'm leaving the plastics off until the stumbling is figured out. Have a good day everyone!

Aug 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ride NEW
by: Larry

Thank you, Jim, I'll try that ride soon. Will post the results.

Aug 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Seafoam NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

Seafoam seems to be the magic elixir of dirty fuel systems. They say about 1 ounce per gallon but you can beef that up a little. What you should do is put in several ounces of Seafoam and go for a one hour ride. A good run always seems to make an engine run better. I call it the one hour tune up.

Aug 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Air leak? NEW
by: Larry

The gas cap didn't work, but I do remember one jet in the carb I couldn't get out. So i'm thinking that, maybe if I put some carb cleaner in the tank and ride it around here on the back roads a bit, it might get straightened out. (We live in the country). If you ease the throttle, it does get up to speed. What are your thoughts?

Aug 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Air leak NEW
by: Larry

Thanks, Jim. I will try that today.

Aug 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Air Leak NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

It almost sounds like an air leak. Check all the vacuum lines for cracks and make sure that they're all placed in the right place. Also make sure that the vent line for the fuel tank is mounted so the end is above the tank. Leave off the fuel cap to test that. Make sure the intake manifold isn't cracked or loose. To test if it needs an idle screw adjustment cover a portion of the air cleaner box opening with Duct tape. It will richen up the mixture that way and you'll know.

Aug 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Idles good, stumbles on acceration NEW
by: AnonymousLarry

Just got my 2009 V5 running, it sat for 6 months before I bought it,I drained the tank, changed the filter and gas lines, and pulled the carb and cleaned it, and changed the oil too. Now it starts and idles great, bu when it's revved up, it stumbles badly. When I take it on the road, it does gain speed slowly. Any ideas? I understand there is an adjustment screw that is pretty well hidden and hard to get to. Thank you for any help anyone can provide.

Aug 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
15,000 miles on my Q-Link Legacy/ CF MOTO V-5 NEW
by: Ken B. from Columbus Ohio

I bought my Q-Link Legacy in 2010 New from dealer and it has been relatively trouble free. Broke the drive belt at 14,000 miles and had it fixed the same night and rode the next day. I am on just the 2nd set of tires and I replaced them before they were actually too worn. Had to replace the grease gaskets on the forks because one of them was starting to leak ( did both just to make sure they wear evenly) ! Other than those minor maintenance fixes in 5 years that is all. GREAT BIKE !

Aug 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
15,000 miles on my Q-Link Legacy NEW
by: Ken B. from Columbus Ohio

I bought my Q-Link Legacy in 2010 New from dealer and it has been relatively trouble free. Broke the drive belt at 14,000 miles and had it fixed the same night and rode the next day. I am on just the 2nd set of tires and I replaced them before they were actually too worn. Had to replace the grease gaskets on the forks because one of them was starting to leak ( did both just to make sure they wear evenly) ! Other than those minor maintenance fixes in 5 years that is all. GREAT BIKE !

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keep Me Posted NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

Yes, let me know how things progress. These CF Motos are a hardy breed. Once the little things are conquered they last a long time.

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cold Country NEW
by: Larry

I am from Michigan, but haven't been back there in many years. I don't like that winter weather, and neither does my wife. Hopefully I can have the V5 running next week, I've got to get a new battery for it, put a new filter on it, and put the tank back on. I pulled the petcock out of the tank and replaced the o ring, and the screen was clean. Actually the gas did not smell bad, but I disposed of it,and I am going to put it together and try to start it without pulling the carb to clean it. When I bought the 150 a couple months ago, it had been sitting for the better part of a year, and the carb is fine, didn't have to clean it, it runs great. Had to change the fuel pump and filter, though, because it was cutting out. With the tank lower than the carb, the Heritage seems to have a fuel delivery problem. I'll let you know when the V5 is running, have a good weekend!

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cold Country NEW
by: Larry

I am from Michigan, but haven't been back there in many years. I don't like that winter weather, and neither does my wife. Hopefully I can have the V5 running next week, I've got to get a new battery for it, put a new filter on it, and put the tank back on. I pulled the petcock out of the tank and replaced the o ring, and the screen was clean. Actually the gas did not smell bad, but I disposed of it,and I am going to put it together and try to start it without pulling the carb to clean it. When I bought the 150 a couple months ago, it had been sitting for the better part of a year, and the carb is fine, didn't have to clean it, it runs great. Had to change the fuel pump and filter, though, because it was cutting out. With the tank lower than the carb, the Heritage seems to have a fuel delivery problem. I'll let you know when the V5 is running, have a good weekend!

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
New York NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

I live in the frozen north of New York State near Binghamton. My CF Moto has that engine and I frequent several scooter forums. Most information to keep them running resides there. You should be able to get many years out of that bike. I have a Bashan 50cc and 150cc also in my garage. You learn a lot with a group like mine.

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cost NEW
by: Larry

Thanks, Jim, I will. Got a steal of a deal on it...$500. The gal I bought it from got from her ex when he left. It's been sitting for about 6 months, not too long. Here in Nevada the heat is brutal, but the bike is very nice because of not sitting in the sun for too long. I also have a 2014 Znen 49cc and a 2011 BMS Heritage 150cc. I should have the 250 running in a short time.What part of the country do you live in?

Aug 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good, Enjoy NEW
by: Ji

That's great.Enjoy the bike.It's a good one.

Aug 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Turns over now NEW
by: Larry

I did the screwdriver across the terminals, and now it turns over with the switch. Maybe the solenoid was stuck. Thanks, Jim.

Aug 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bypass NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

If you take a screwdriver you should be able to jump the two poles on the solenoid. If the starter spins you have a signal problem somewhere. You lay the screwdriver across the two legs, sparks fly and the starter should spin. If not there's a problem in the starter.

Aug 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starter button NEW
by: Anonymous

Thank you, Jim. It is getting power down to the solenoid on one side, but I cannot get it to the starter. I picked up a starter button today and some ten guage wire. Shouldn't I be able to bypass the solenoid with the starter button and start it that way? Thaks for your time.

Aug 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yes NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

I would think that the rear brake would have to be held. Did you try squeezing the front brake? If you can locate the bypass switch you could jump it out by connecting the two wires. Then make sure you have some brake held to keep it from lurching forward.

Aug 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMOTO 2005 V5 NEW
by: Larry

I just bought this 2009 V5 with 1200 miles on it, it has sat for 6 months but I can't get it to turn over...do you have to hold the rear brake lever like a scooter to start it? The rear brake cylinder window was broken, so I took it off and cleaned and epoxied the window, but haven't been able to get the brake bled. Even with the kickstand up, I can't get a peep out of it. What do you think, could it be the starter relay. Any help would be appreciated. I have been trying with a fully charged battery. Thank you.

Jul 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMoto V5 For Sale NEW
by: Devery Mills

I have moved up to a Honda Shadow 750 therefore, I have a 2008 Yellow/Black CF Moto V5 that I have learned to ride with that I am selling. I have added Leather River Road Saddle Bags and a Leather Trunk. It also has a windshield. It is in perfect condition and has 2200 miles on it. All my own. I am selling it for $2200 Naked or $2500 with all the accessories. I live in Springfield, MO. If you are interested, email me at DMillsRN@gmail.com and I will send you a picture. Thanks.

Jul 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMoto V5 For Sale NEW
by: Devery Mills

I have moved up to a Honda Shadow 750 therefore, I have a 2008 Yellow/Black CF Moto V5 that I have learned to ride with that I am selling. I have added Leather River Road Saddle Bags and a Leather Trunk. It also has a windshield. It is in perfect condition and has 2200 miles on it. All my own. I am selling it for $2200 Naked or $2500 with all the accessories. I live in Springfield, MO. If you are interested, email me at DMillsRN@gmail.com and I will send you a picture. Thanks.

Jun 10, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CF MOTO V5 Engine upgrades NEW
by: Robert

Anyone successful at performing the 300cc engine mod? I remember seeing a video by MRP but it was bit pricy. Appreciate any pointers / information about other sources for engine mods too.

THANKS
RWNBLN2540@ATT.NET

Jun 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Disabled Bike Rider Loves this as an option to traditional Moto's NEW
by: Rev. Andrew C. Ramirez D.D.

Hi, Beginning in 2008, I started having 5 life saving surgeries. I am a lifer who prefers to ride a bike/trike for many reasons. I was riding a 2007 crimson red with full chrome package on a 2007 Harley Sportster low profile. I had to sell it to cover medical expenses. This last year, I got a clean bill of health (still disabled for life - but OK to do some activities, including driving). Initially, since I am only 5.8, I was looking for something that I can comfortably handle. After taxes came, I did not want payments (i lost my car as well - to pay medical bills). Through A lot browsing, I saw someone had one of these (2009) for $800. I really needed to just get around town to appointments and the occasional head clearing ride. This did the trick. It only had 1500 miles. It drives great. Yes people pass me, thats ok. Great gas and has the feel of a traditional bike...My only thumbs down would be, its kind of light, so be careful in moderate to heavy wind/crosswind.

May 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 CF MOTO V5 Needs help NEW
by: Robert

I recently purchased a V5 that starts fine and will drive 1 or 2 miles but then dies. When the battery has a good charge it restarts fine. Why does it keep cutting out,does anyone have ideas? I have suspicions that it might be dirt/rust in tank clogging and starving the engine, but it might be electrical?? Please reply to RWNBLN2540@ATT.NET

Thanks

May 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 CF MOTO V5 Needs help NEW
by: Robert

I recently purchased a V5 that starts fine and will drive 1 or 2 miles but then dies. When the battery has a good charge it restarts fine. Why does it keep cutting out,does anyone have ideas? I have suspicions that it might be dirt/rust in tank clogging and starving the engine, but it might be electrical?? Please reply to RWNBLN2540@ATT.NET

Thanks

Apr 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
T-5 For Sale in Westminster, MD NEW
by: Anonymous

I have a silver 2009 T-5 for sale, only owner. I am located in Westminster, MD, if you are interested. Very low mileage as hardly rode. Email is tracey@barnesbollinger.com.

Apr 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
V3 NEW
by: Devery

Are you familiar with the V3? I have the V5 but we also have a new 2008 with less than 100 miles for sale. We are asking $1550. It is white. If you are interested you can email me at DMillsRN@gmail.com

Apr 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Anyone selling? NEW
by: Anonymous

I'm very interested in this bike. Is anyone currently selling one? If so, what is your location and how can I get in touch with you?

Thanks!

Mar 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2009 CF Moto T-5 NEW
by: Anonymous

I purchased my bike in 2009 brand new and really enjoyed it. Within the past couple of years I became a grandmother and decided to stop riding for safety reasons only. I didn't ride at all last year and the bike has just sat. I live in Westminster, MD, and am looking to sell my bike this spring. The Blue Book value is around $1,400. It has very low mileage. If anyone is interested in buying it, please contact me through this link and I will contact you back.

Mar 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Online Stores NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

There are many places online that sell hard and soft luggage. Denniskirk.com, motorcyclesuperstore.com or even JCWhitney.com is where I bought soft bags for a Honda Rebel which is configured in the same style. Try those.

Mar 12, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help Please NEW
by: Devery

I just purchased one of the v5 with only 300 miles on it. I am new in the biking world but am loving everything about it.

I am looking for some saddle bags to put on it. Does anyone know of any place that sells bags that will work on it?

Email me at DMillsRN@gmail.com if you have any suggestions. I need some of storage.

Thanks and have a wonderful day.

Nov 12, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
8000 Miles and running well NEW
by: Mike

At 5000 miles I had to replace the drive belt. Scooters Plus in Nevada has parts and good to work with. I went on line and bought a CD manual for $ 8 and do the work myself .Replaced clutch, rollers and also belt. Piece of cake.

At 6000 I replaced the back tire. The guy at the store did not want to touch it, but i looked at manual and told him the 5 steps to replace tire and he did it for $ 50 .

Every 3000 must replace battery. Connected a fused wire so I can jump start if battery down. Comes in handy if necessary.

Always use Sta-bil generously to kill the ethanol effect and never had starting problem. Do understand vent issue but only problem for me when tank is low, sooooo I never let it get low.

Top end is really 60. can go 65, but everything rattles. Prime speed is 40. As a retiree this is perfect.

Guaranteed to get a lot of looks. Big tires MAJOR ADVNTAGE. Much more stable.

Agree hard to get service from Hondo or Yamaha dealer, but need to learn to work on self. Fun.

Aug 24, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re-Route of Hose NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

A dealer once said he had to get the end of the vent hose either near or above the handlebar. It was a very common problem. Once sorted you should love it.

Aug 24, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
stalling NEW
by: a smith

my wife just purchased used 2011 v5. Have problem with stalling and not starting again. After reading other reviews with similar problems. we read of venting problems with gas tank. so i took off gas gas and after a couple tries it started. A nd ran fine without stalling. So tomorrow i will check and re route vent hose. and should be fine. thank you all for your reviews .Were extremely helpful.

Jul 29, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No New Ones NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

CF Moto doesn't sell them in this country any more. Go to either www.craigslist.org or www.searchtempest.com to hunt for used ones in your area. You won't get any trouble about a test ride, the bugs will have been shaken out of a used unit and you'll save a ton of money. I bought my scarcely used Fashion for only $1200 and haven't regretted a day of it.

Jul 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Where do I find one in Massachusetts? NEW
by: Anonymous

Looking to purchase a small motorcycle/scooter. This sounds like it would be perfect. Where can I find one to test?/Buy?

Jul 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Where do I find one in Massachusetts? NEW
by: Anonymous

Looking to purchase a small motorcycle/scooter. This sounds like it would be perfect. Where can I find one to test?/Buy?

Jul 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This Close NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

I was so close to buying a CF Moto V-5 I could taste it. I gave the guy a deposit and was going back a couple days later when he e-mailed me to tell me the deal was off. Yes, he returned my deposit but I was bitterly disappointed. I got the 250 CF Moto Fashion a month or so later, but darn.

Jul 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
V-5 NEW
by: Anonymous

I have been trying to sell mine for the past six months. Not riding anymore and would love to see someone enjoy it.

Jul 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Legacy Q-link is a real bike NEW
by: Joe Pozak

I have a 250cc Reflex style scooter and am a self proclaimed scooter nut. I have a 750 CC "real Bike" but I LOVE the nimbleness of the scooter. it is fun to drive light to handle and just fun. I had a friend acquire a Q-link through a labor trade and he wanted to sell it and luckily for me I was the first call.
What imprested me was the ride and the traditional ease of operation. the Q-link rides like a larger motorcycle and has the ease of operation of a scooter.

If you are just starting out or just want an easy rider this is your bike. if you want to ride double or need to go in the freeway you need more bike.

The Q-link was rebranded as the CF Moto V5. SAME BIKE, SAME PARTS SAME EVERYTHING. This is a great bike at any price!

Jul 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Legacy Q-link is a real bike NEW
by: Joe Pozak

I have a 250cc Reflex style scooter and am a self proclaimed scooter nut. I have a 750 CC "real Bike" but I LOVE the nimbleness of the scooter. it is fun to drive light to handle and just fun. I had a friend acquire a Q-link through a labor trade and he wanted to sell it and luckily for me I was the first call.
What imprested me was the ride and the traditional ease of operation. the Q-link rides like a larger motorcycle and has the ease of operation of a scooter.

If you are just starting out or just want an easy rider this is your bike. if you want to ride double or need to go in the freeway you need more bike.

The Q-link was rebranded as the CF Moto V5. SAME BIKE, SAME PARTS SAME EVERYTHING. This is a great bike at any price!

Apr 30, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hard starting V5 NEW
by: Anonymous

The V5 has no choke so it is very hard starting. Thae battery it comes with is crap. Put in a good battery and keep it on a tender. When starting gently roll the accelarator and be prepared to try several times. Always use fuel stabilizer that counteracts the negative effects of alcohol. If the bike still doesnt start the carb needs to be cleaned. If those instructions are followed all V5 owners should be ok!

Sep 27, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
When V-7 Means a Twin NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/632/14395/Motorcycle-Article/2013-Moto-Guzzi-V7-First-Look.aspx

I just had my fill of 25 year old Jap bikes. Did you know that early 80s Yamahas had cam shaft oiling troubles? Boom! when the rocker arm stuck to the cam. Yamaha camshaft-$291.00, CF Moto camshaft-$44.00 from Parts for Scooters.

Aug 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Since when does V5 mean thumper ? NEW
by: Steven E

So if I understand, this is a replica motor of a honda 250cc single cylinder , but it is called a V5.
That would be a 5 cylinder V configuration.
----
I read and read waiting for a Chinese company to come out with a dependable, non rusting, long lasting bike like all the Japan bikes.

Cannot say I have found one yet. I would feel better on a 25 year old Honda than a new V5.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Canister NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

I'm not an authority but I seem to recall there's a emissions canister connected to the gas tank. When you flipped it the canister might have gotten filled and now the gas tank isn't venting properly.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
cant start NEW
by: Anonymous

i recently got ran off the road but ended up turning it over. anyways, some fluid came out and i cant get it to start. by key or manually jumping it. any ideas on what i can do to get it to start or what fluid may have came out. i thought it might of been oil but when i checked it, it was fine. HELP ME.

Jun 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No support from CF Moto NEW
by: Anonymous

Among several mechanical problems, electrical problems, and dealerships that want to sell the bikes, but not service them, take a look for recalls and safety issues that CF Moto was supposed to repair on all bikes sold, things like a heat shield on the exhaust pipe under the plastic cover next to shock RH side of bike, pipe hits extreme temps when idling or at high speed and melts the plastic, and on mine turn it into a rolling torch under my ass on the freeway, how special ! not sure how many miles I even have on mine, that quit working 3 days after I bought it

Jun 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Oh the leaks NEW
by: Anonymous

The oil leak on mine which was oozing from the belt cover area was not the breather that they are speaking of, it was a bad seal on the drive shaft behind the variator, which led to an oil soaked belt, which disintegrated at 60mph, and causing the clutch to explode into fragments, also the variator was reduced to junk, the rollers were destroyed as well, the fuel leak on mine was not caused by the over flow tube, also being refereed to as the vent tube, but leaking directly from the carburetor, seems the electric fuel shut off malfunctions and allows fuel to flow when it should be closed, also causes hard starting it sticks in the closed position.

Jun 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Bike NEW
by: Anonymous

This is a great little bike. My Harley is 700 pounds and just too hard to ride every day. Not so with the Legacy. Have put over 1,000 miles on it and I love it. It doesn't have the best alternator as far as charging the battery, so works best if you ride it at least every other day. A battery tender works fine if you let it sit. Easy to handle. Power enough for most roads. Highways not so great where traffic is going 65 to 70. I won't push my little 250 that hard. If you ride a bike at top power, just like a car, you'll end up killing it.

Riding in a group, I have no problems keeping up with the bigger bikes at all. Love it.

Jun 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
mo's leak NEW
by: Anonymous

mo - where is the leak coming from?
I don't think that the leak is the cause of it not starting - I think they are 2 separate things.

On the left side of the bike under the casing that covers the drive belt and fly wheels there is a small "breather" tube that you can barely see extending down through a small hole. This is where the gear oil will sometimes leak out from - especially when brand new or when the gear oil has just been changed. If the "leak" is coming from here - it is normal and once the correct amount is still remaining inside the leaking will stop. This would not cause the bike to not start.
Not starting could be caused by the fuel line vent tube which you should be able to see coming from inside the bike hanging down towards the ground under the gas tank area. You can try taking the gas cap off, remove gas if necessary so that it only has 1/4 tank or less, put gas cap back on and try starting. If it starts - it could be because the vent hose is not positioned correctly or is kinked, blocked or pinched. I had this same problem the day I picked mine up - fortunatly I had someone following me so they brought me back to the dealer and the dealer brought me to pick up the stalled bike from down the road - trailered it back to their shop and fixed the problem. Especially if it is brand new - the dealer that sold it to you should take care of the problem - they shouldn't be giving you the run around - they should fix it. Besides it's under warranty for 2 years or should be. And that is between CF MOTO and the dealer you purchased it from - not you and CF MOTO or you and the dealer. You are the customer and they should fix it - the $ being exchanged is between them not you.
Hopefully that helps...

Jun 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
usage update NEW
by: Anonymous

Just over 3500 miles already - been riding to work a lot since we have had unusually warm weather in MN this year. Almost at the 2k mark for the season and it's only June.
I've been changing the engine and drive oil frequently and simultaneously to keep it running good since it is affordable and fairly simple.
Only concern thus far is that it is starting to form a little rust already around the exhaust pipe opening - it has only seen a few rainy days so I'm guessing there was still some salt residuals on the roads in March/April when I first started riding this year. No other issues yet. Instead of using mileage to calculate oil changes - I have been using the 'feel' method - you can feel when it's not running as smoothly which is telling you that it's time for fresh oil. I have changed it 3 times already in 3500 miles and will probably do again at 4k. So I've been changing about every 1k miles. For $10 (price of oil) I personally think it's worth it.

Jun 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Choke NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

If you're having trouble starting cold then the choke might not be operating. I always tell people find the outlet to your air filter and cover it with tape about 1/2 to 3/4 then try to start it. If it runs then you're electric choke isn't working. It could simply be that the wire fell off or that the unit itself is defective.

May 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MY CF Moto 250 V5 won't start NEW
by: Luciano

I have a 2009 CF Moto V5 and for some reason it won't start when it cools down. If it starts and gets warmed up then it runs great but getting it to start after it cools down is crazy. Can anyone help me with this?

May 29, 2012
Rating
starstar
NEED HELP NEW
by: CMA

Ihave the CF MOTO V5 read about it loved what I read so I took a chance. the ride is nice. But I have a BIG problem mine will not start it only have 25miles on it. Now I'm look for a repair center and the website is down. Can you help me?
I think I'm getting the run-around from the dealer because I'm a woman.

May 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Smokes a bit NEW
by: Hugo

Does the Cfmoto v-5 suppose to smoke once it warms up????? Mine does like a lawn mower. Is that normal??

Dec 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
cf moto v5
by: timi

wife has one ran it all summer no troubles and she still rides it if it's not to cold ps and it's fast she loves it

Sep 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMOTOT- V5
by: Mo

My bike was leaking something oil or coolant and then wont start anymore anyone know whats goin on with my bike

Jul 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply to Where is Support When you Need It
by: Anonymous

I have had similar constant problems with bike when I first purchased. I commend you for finding a lawyer to deal with this issue. I bought my bike from a supposed dealer in Thurmont, MD, and he was useless in getting my bike fixed. A dealer in Hanover, PA, actually got it fixed the last time I took it to him. Had little hesitation still when riding but when replaced battery this year it seems to finally be riding OK.

Still don't trust the bike and still not happy about the problems but if I can be of any help to you as a witness or whatever for the problems with the bike let me know as I tried to get mine replaced after all the problems I had and found out because I purchased it online through the Thurmont dealer it voided any type of warranty I could ever have received and this was a brand new bike.

What a ripoff. My husband and I are now sorry we didn't pursue a lawsuit. Good luck.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just over 1000 miles
by: the wolf

Luckily haven't had any other problems since the first stalling at initial purchase. Been using as much as weather has permitted for work commuting and took one 130 mile round trip with it. I changed both the drive and gear oils early around 300 miles. Gear oil barely had any left - so I'm glad that I did it early.

Now when on the side stand periodically some gear oil will come out of the overflow hose - I filled it to capacity but I'm curious just how much is still in there... I will keep it "topped off" to ensure that it doesn't run too low again.

The only other issue that I have noticed is that the front tire was installed on the rim incorrectly - it rotates in the wrong (opposite) direction. I believe that the dealership will "turn it around" for me but I haven't brought it in to them yet.

So just broke 1000 miles - everything seems to be working fine - even the radio still works. Left turn signal doesn't "engage" but if I remove the cover and monkey with it a little it works fine for a little while.

I decided to purchase this bike because of the price point. Along with that decision I expected there would be issues here and there with it - as they say - you get what you pay for. It's not a $10-20,000 bike so its not a high-quality machine.

However, so far it is holding up almost better than I expected. I am confident taking it on the freeway at high speeds as well as taking sharp curves etc. It's not super-solid - I can feel some waivering but no too concerned about it falling apart on the road.

Overall I am still satisfied with the purchase - if it reaches 10,000 miles it will almost pay for itself in money saved on gas versus driving another vehicle... so that's the goal - to hope that it lasts that long (about 4 years). So far so good.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
star
Where is the support when you need it ?
by: Ron Severson

I purchased my V5 in May 2010, needless to say after just a few miles the temp gauge fell off the bike, the plastic mounting tabs on side panels all broke from the vibration, at the end of July 2010 I had a list of 22 different problems with the bike, and many of which made it unsafe to ride, everything from brakes locking, leaking fuel, and leaking oil from the belt cover area, when I contacted the dealer, they continuously tried to tell me me, it's normal!

And I could not get any work done on it, I contacted 3 other dealers about the issues, and they all declined from working on it because of so many problems and told me their biggest concern was getting paid for the work from CFMOTO, I finally managed to get the dealership I purchased it from to take the bike in for service, but only after flooding every email address I could find at CFMOTO with repeated letters about the issue.

The bike went in for service at the end of Jan 2010, 4 1/2 months later I got it back, so looking forward to getting on it and riding it, I planned my 4th of July weekend, a road trip, well I didn't even put 600 miles on it, and the belt shredded itself because of being oil soaked, and the engine is blown, very minimal compression, more on a weed whacker, called the dealer, and was informed that he is no longer a CFMOTO dealership, he is closed for good, called 5 other dealers, and they have refused to work on it, so I contacted the company directly, still waiting for a reply from them, if they have the same standard of business ethics as their dealers, I'm in big trouble!

And to all those thinking of buying one, STAY CLEAR and if you choose to ignore my warning, before you purchase that shiny new bike, ask the dealership if their mechanics are certified, because CFMOTO does not offer any training programs to dealerships, or mechanics, they don't even have a service manual to work from, its all hit or miss,

So at this point, I have started to look for an attorney to excercise my rights under the "LEMON LAW" and I just know it's going to be a long process, so my riding days for 2011 are over just as fast as they began.

Jun 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Twice the fun!
by: Rivbug

My wife and are are both 62 yrs old and retired.
I have been riding since 1967,and presently own a V-Star 1100 Custom.
We always rode 2 up until at 60 she wanted her own bike. Because of a wrist injury there was trouble with the clutch lever on her 650 Savage.
Sold it and bought a "Moto". She loves that bike. I rode it a few times and now own one myself.They are great for tooling around the byways of upstate NY.
I'm told that any Honda dealer is capable of doing repairs,but with the 2 year warranty I don't foresee a future trip to my wallet.
For the money(bought them at the end of season and saved a ton of money) I don't think you can go wrong.Gas prices are not going down hop on.

Jun 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMOTO V5
by: Joe

I had bought my wife a Suzuki Savage 650 and she rode it once. ONCE! She really wanted something automatic like her smaller 150cc scooter. I found this and bought a used 2007 CFMoto V5 with only 460 miles on it... rode it home 100 miles in February from Wisconsin to Illinois.

She LOVES it... no problems, great gas mileage and easy to handle. We were worried it was a brand not well known but took a chance and seems like a worry free decision. Ridley is only other option at a price. (maybe later) She is a new rider and this is perfect for her and loves the feel of a motorcycle experience automatic!

I sneak it out a lot too! Only drawbacks is storage easily solved by adding a Top Case. Tons of those to pick from. We love to scoot around the area and enjoy the senses and experience you only get from a 2 wheel vehicle.

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
great bike but need help
by: Gerry Roets

I have this hawk v5 but I need specs like valve timing engine specs and parts. Please help... it's a great bike and I need the right transmission belt size... please help!

May 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yes, Buy It
by: Jim Zeiser

Make sure the dealer has a decent service area to take care of the bikes he sells and see if other customers are around to talk to. Ask how well the dealer has taken care of any issues that may have arisen with their machines. These are good bikes. A good dealer should make you glad you bought one.

May 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Should You Buy CF Moto
by: Anonymous

My recommendation is definitely do not purchase this bike. Have had nothing but problems and no one wants to work on them. What a poor make for a bike. Just my opinion but if you want to buy one, you can buy mine. I am very dissatisfied and have only owned it for just a month over a year.

May 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Should I buy a CF Moto V5 or not?
by: Anonymous

I've wanted a motorcycle for years... I've ridden on motorcycles since I was 16, but I've never driven one!

I'm now old enough to qualify for a 55 year old senior discount...lol

The only feature that I insist on in a bike, is one that's an automatic.

The Honda DN-01 is too expensive for my budget, and so is the Ridley.

Would you recommend buying this bike or not?

Please help me with my decision... Thanks in advance, for your help!

Apr 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re-comments to previous Post by Biker55
by: Anonymous

Having had my V5 for almost 2 months now, I finally developed a problem with keeping the battery charged. I'm not blaming the bike as I had replaced the battery with a new one from Autozone right after purchase. However, I've instead grown in learning from others and research online.

Most agree, that because a motorbike of any kind
has a much smaller re-charging system than a car... you have 2 options. One is to ride the bike 2-3 times a week for 20 minutes or longer at near highway speeds to maintain a proper battery charge, or to buy a 12 volt or appropriate trickle charger to keep at proper operation
voltage levels.

I opted for the later, purchasing a Battery Tender Jr. model with easy hook ups & auto shut off and auto on which cost me 40 bucks... great investment and no problems since and I now carry the small charger when not in use in my saddlebags just for that... just in case factor.

Additionally, a vehicle pre-check (click link for checklist on this site) should always be done before riding for loose, broken, worn, missing screws, hoses, wiring, etc. You don't have the safety on a bike as a car and it only takes 1 mistake from not having checked beforehand to end your riding days if not your life... think about it !

Apr 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Problems with Bike
by: Anonymous

I am really sorry to hear about your bike having problems within a mile of riding away from dealer. At least you got a good dealer to fix it. I lost all confidence in driving my bike after the problems. Mine was repaired by a dealer but it doesn't feel like it has much power now and I no longer trust taking it on anything but back roads. I am getting ready to sell it and never look back. Good luck with your purchase.

Apr 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
purchased 2009 V5
by: the wolf

Just purchased a Gold '09 V5.
So far I love the bike.

Drove it off the dealer's lot and got about a mile down the road - it stalled and wouldn't restart. Turned out to be the fuel venting issue mentioned in a previous post. Dealer fixed no questions asked - filled the tank with gas and since then haven't had an issue with that.

On the way home from the dealer though the screw that holds the speedometer fell out so the cable was just hanging by the front tire.
I used a couple of zip ties to hold it back in place instead of trying to replace the screw - that works just fine.

I purchased for commuting to/from work which is about 35 miles round trip. In Minnesota so there is limited time to ride so I've already started - only 50 miles on it so far.

I will update if there are any issues. I use the radio every time I ride so we'll see if that fails or not. Otherwise I'm not too worried for the first 2 years with the warranty and the dealership is reputable enough where I believe that they will respond to any issues that may arrive.

Mar 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
one question about stereo
by: WillyA

There's no headphone jack is there?

Mar 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Picking up my V5 next month...
by: Willy A

Hi all, thanks for all your comments on here. I recently purchased a V5 from a certified dealer here in Minnesota. As far as I know, he's the only CFMoto dealer near me. I bought a 150cc scooter from him last season, that was stolen out of my garage - recovered by the police a week later in shambles.

So I went back to my dealer and traded the parts in (plus paid the difference) for the V5. I'm eager to start riding it - we just got a dump of snow here in MN so I haven't been able to take it out yet. I'm expecting as great a ride as I did with the E-Charm. But I'll be sure to update you all on the status of the bike.

My dealer is gomotomn.com.

Mar 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply to Idle Problem
by: Anonymous

Have had my bike for almost a year now and I am the individual listed below with all of the problems breaking down in the middle of nowhere. Anyway, have had that problem since I got the bike last year and it hasn't gotten any better. I wish you a lot of luck. I am thinking of getting rid of the bike this year because I do not feel safe on the roads with it anymore.

Mar 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
cf moto warming up
by: r.b. schaeffer

I purchased a new 2009 v5 and i am having problems getting it to move after starting and it does not want it idle very will, I called the dealer and he said that was normal and will quit after a while. Has anyone experienced this problem.

bob schaeffer

Mar 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My CFMOTO 250T-V Experience
by: Biker55

Timeline: Feb. 17, 2011. Jackson Mississippi. I spotted my 2008 model CFMOTO 250T-V5 of all places for sale at a local Farm and tractor dealer. Was sold "As Is" due to being a never sold 2008 yr. model whos factory warranty had expired.

Risky...perhaps, but no more than attempting to buy one online, sight unseen, and delivered as a piece of junk right to your door.

Upon going to the tax collector's office for tag and title, the VIN was keyed in off the bill of sale and the Manufacturers certificate of Origin and would not go into the system. I was told the bike would have to be taken to the Miss. Hwy Patrol inspection station for a V.I.N. inspection and a check against the national crime information system.

I called the M.H.P. to see what all I needed and was told I'd need 2 copies of The Bill of Sale, 2 Notarized copies of a "Affidavit of Ownership" (by me) a Surety Bond issued by an Insurance company, and 2 copies of the Certificate of Manufacturers Origin.

The bond took 2 days to get from Dallas,Tx for $103.00. Notarization was free as we used our "Family attorney" we've used for years. Insurance ran me $195.00 yearly but reduced to $105.00 for a yr. for presenting a Certificate of Completion for the National Motorcycle Institute Motorcycle Safety 2 day course that I've had for years now.

Bike taken to MHP and VIN and engine numbers all checked out fine in NCIS checks and visual verification by 2 MHP officers. Form MVT-59 was stamped and signed approved then taken to Tax collector for manual entry override of VIN entry and paid $45.00 for tag, title application, and taxes.

Breakdown was:
$ 1391.63 for Bike sold "As Is"
$ 103.00 Surety Bond
$ 105.00 Insurance
$ 45.00 Tags,Title,Taxes

I also spent $98.00 for a New Battery, figuring the one in it was from 2008 and needed replacing anyways, and a fresh Oil change in case oil was the Manufacturers original shipping oil.

Today's my 23rd day of ownership and riding off and on when weather's been nice, and I absolutely love the bike.

Solid performer, zero problems so far, and I get stopped everywhere I go with questions on the bike. I've put 150 miles on it so far in 23 days, haven't figured the MPG rating on it yet but seems to be unreal as the miles come and go and the "Full" level seems to have hardly moved.

When I pass a place now and see almost $ 4.00 a gallon for gas... I can't help but snicker and turn the throttle a tad bit more and chuckle away.

It is my hope, that if you've read all this... that should you buy the same bike, your experience overall will be just as great as mine has been.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another Excellent Source
by: Jim Zeiser

Cookees is another excellent source for CF Moto repairs and information. He's located in Pittsburgh, PA.
www.hyproscooters.com

He's a top notch mechanic and a long time contributor to numerous scooter forums.

Feb 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cut-out Problems
by: Cookees

We have found that some of the V-5’s we sold do indeed have a “cut-out” problem. The culprit turns out to be a venting problem with the gas tank/cap. Rerouting the vent hose (that comes from under the tank) up the triple-tree/forks, to a height above the tank seems to cure the problem.

Jan 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
To All Who Have Problematic Situations
by: Anonymous

1. The first step is to contact the dealer from whom you purchased the bike/scooter.
2. Make sure you have all paperwork, including the warranty policy (downloadable online), registration and receipts from any work you've had done.
3. Do not attempt to have a third party repair service work on your vehicle, whether it's a friend or the mechanic down the street. This can and more than likely will void your warranty.
4. Do not buy a vehicle from an unauthorized CFMOTO dealer.
5. Do not operate a vehicle that is sputtering, shaking, making unusual noises or having other problems that inhibit proper riding.

Jan 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Response to Kira
by: Anonymous

I am the one who posted about the bike cutting out for no reason at higher speeds. I wish you a lot of luck. Wish I could tell you what to do. Am very uncomfortable riding now because of this defect and my radio has never worked. Not even static and no one can fix it and not under warranty even though I purchased it brand new.

Someone commented on purchasing a kit from scootertronics.com to boost the power but I don't recommend that at all as they are the people I purchased the bike from and were of no help to me at all.

The only recommendation I have is to sell the bike and buy a better brand. That is what I am planning on doing in the spring. Good luck to all of you out there whose bikes have never had problems but from the look of it, they all have problems of some sort.

Jan 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
HELP
by: Anonymous

After looking at these posts, I can't tell if I had a bad dealer or a bad bike, but a fair few things have gone wrong.

First to go was the radio... not that I minded that much as the radio reception in our area is poor and although cars can usually pick up a reasonable signal, the bike just didn't manage it. But all was not lost as the mp3 thing was really cool... until that went too.

Next was failed starts in the morning... at first I thought maybe it was the battery... but the electrics were on... I charged it anyway just in case it didn't quite have the power it needed. It's been in and out of the garage so much I have easily spent more on the bike than the original price.

Similarly to a previous comment, the bike cut out on me while I was traveling 60 on a single road...not good. My exhaust was buggered and the garage cut off one end removed the insides and welded it back together... very poorly I might add.

I no longer use that garage as I think they were messing me about can anybody give me advice... the bike is running now but often pulls back and sometimes won't get up to 60 on flat roads, radio/mp3 still not working and think the bearings on the back wheel are going again.

I am no motorcycle expert so I'm not looking for too much technical stuff but am wanting to work on the bike.

If anybody has any advice please post it here...

cheers
Kira

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
update - im a believer now!!
by: king andre'

My mechanic found the solution to all my v5 issues. He changed out the fuse box thing-a-ma-giggy and no more loss of power/hesitation, no more blown fan and mp3 player. It has just been 2 months since and I don't ride it much now due to colder weather but when I do it rides like a champ. Im still not 100% convinced but Im starting to believe it will work out for me.

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Response
by: Anonymous

I am one of the individuals commenting negatively on this bike. I owned a Suzuki Burgman for two years prior to purchasing this bike. My husband was very against me getting this bike as it was unknown but "I knew it would be okay". Well, it wasn't.

The dealer sold that sold it to me sold it against the manufacturer's requirements and I now have no warranty on it so all of the work that has needed done had to be paid for by me. I even contacted headquarters in China for help and got nowhere.

A gentleman from Minnesota called me to assist me and I still ended up paying for it. He even said they were going to shut down the location I purchased the bike from due to the problems I have had and never did. When you are driving down the road and the bike actually cuts out on you without warning is very dangerous.

Luckily my bike had problems starting earlier in the day and my husband was following me to make sure I didn't break down when that happened so he stayed back and didn't hit me. What if that would have been someone I didn't know who was riding real close and ran over me????

You have no idea what I have been through. You are very lucky you have never had any problems with your bike. I wish I could say the same and then I would be writing positive comments. Good luck in the future.

If you want to buy my bike, feel free to let me know as I am looking to get rid of it and buy something that is reliable.

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
VF Moto CF / Qlink Legacy 2007/2009
by: Lord Manimal

I happen to own two of these, and I can tell you that some of these comments are clearly made by people hating on the idea that they're chinese made bikes. My wife and I each own one, and they have provided us thousands of miles of troublefree riding. The reviewer is correct that the bikes are quite zippy up to 65, but you have to wait for 75 or 80. Top end is near 80mph on an unmodded bike, because the fuel lines are too small. The bike will simply run out of fuel and cut off, after running at 80mph for more than a few minutes. A fuel line upgrade kit from http://scootertronics.com fixes this however.

I think that a lot of times, people like myself that are happy with the bikes are too busy riding them to bother posting online, while any sort of problem with a bike means the poster is online, and angry. There is a poster from just a few weeks ago mentioning the fuel line problem I noted above. He's thinking the bike is a pos, when it's simply designed to go the 65mph it advertised. It will go far beyond that with a simple, cheap upgrade, but that poster is irritated because he doesn't know about this simply solution.

So here's the short and sweet of it:

1. I own two of the bikes; I would rate my experience with them both as absolutely top notch.

2. Problems: Wife dumped hers and broke the foot board; didn't like the cast aluminum design. Speedometer cable clip broke; had to use a black plastic tie wrap to hold. Speedometer shows you as going about 5mph faster than you actually are. Bike will go 80mph, while showing 85, but fuel lines need an upgrade to maintain the speed for very long. Stereo is nice at low speeds, useless at road speed.

3. Pros: Miliage is absolutely insane: 75mpg is the MINIMUM miles per gallon you will get. Bikes look great, and are a wonderful beginner bike for anyone that loves scooters. Shifts like a dream. I actually have no idea how many shifts are made in a take-off; it just goes forward and you can't feel it at all! Amazing conversation starter; you'll get ribbed by the harley guys until you go on a cruise with them. When you make the entire run on a sigle tank of gas, and they've hit 4 gas stations in that time, the ribbing stops then and their. It looks like a motorcycle, but it's a scooter! Being able to smoke a cig or drink a soda at stoplights; that confuses the heck out of people that can't figure out how you didn't shift. lol Bike is also super stable; at road speeds, I can literally stand up on the foot boards and ride it like a bicycle.

4. Reliability: Haven't had a single problem actually, other than the fuel line upgrade. And that was my fault for pushing the bike beyond what it was speced for. Oh, and the broken foot peg from when my wife dropped hers.


Jan 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My V5 - after 8,000 (update by larry Brown)
by: Anonymous

The V5 – after 8,000 miles

In my first year, I’ve run my V5 8,000 miles. Unless there’s snow or ice on the road, I ride year round – in New England. Doing that saves between one and two thousand dollars on gas, compared to driving my Dodge Caravan. The V5 gets 70 miles a gallon. I just dress for the weather, that’s all.

2,500 of those miles comprised a road trip that took me through 7 northwestern states, over the Cascades and the Rockies from the Pacific to the Mississippi. I’ve replaced a drive belt so far. That’s it. The bike always starts; it always works. I’ve owned 13 scooters and motorcycles since 1965 – and the V5 is my favorite.

I’ve added a standard CFMOTO windshield and top-case to the bike. The only non-factory additions are a rubber mud-flap to the front fender which keeps my feet and shins dry on a wet day – and for trips, I’ve added a pad to the seat to boost my height so my knees aren’t as flexed. (I’m getting old.) In winter, I ride the saddle stock. It keeps my center of gravity lower if I encounter ice and lowers my profile vis-à-vis the windshield for a little extra weather protection. The seat itself is comfortable as is.

Expect the V5 to take a thousand miles or so to break in. As it does so, you’ll see your top speed pick up. The speedometer is optimistic but you’ll cruise at 60-65 mph with a top end around 70. Engine vibration is negligible at all speeds. No tingle and the mirrors stay clear. The liquid-cooed engine seems happy even after 350 miles of constant riding in mountainous terrain. The footrests are comfortable and allow a fair range of riding positions. The V5 is physically larger than a number of what are considered “starter bikes” like the Honda Rebel. There is a luggage rack sufficient for a good top-case, for example. Saddle bag size is limited by the location of the rear turn signals, but I’ve got room for tools and full rain gear.

When I first took to the open road, I wondered what kind of reaction I’d get from the Harley crowd. I needn’t have worried. First of all, I was riding farther than all but one biker I met. Besides, there was genuine curiosity and interest in the automatic CVT transmission and the gas mileage I was getting. Given the low initial cost of the V5, the more you ride it, the faster it will pay for itself in saved gas. The ultra-heavy (and expensive) road machine can never say that. In times like these, it’s hard to justify a thirty-thousand dollar machine that gets worse mileage than a Toyota Camry.



Dec 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I say automatic tranny equals scoot
by: Anonymous

If you ask me, if it doesn't have a clutch, is under 500cc, and doesn't have the brake on your right foot it's a scooter. I'd prefer a "scooter" with manual shift a bit afraid of losing the clutching skills if I ride an automatic...and engine braking can save your life if you have to stop on a dime!

After tons of research, and I agree that the forum folks mention in here is FANTASTIC, it would seem that the quality control in some, not all Chinese plants is just poor; that's a fact with many products (li. All the sites strongly encourage you to buy from a place where they have gone over every inch of the bike and tightened bolts, checked connections, checked for crimped lines, checked gaskets, tested rectifiers, tested cdi all that stuff and of course don't forget to immediately ditch the cheap chinese oil and tranny fluids the second you get it. The CFMoto engines are supposed to be in a HUGE percentage of scoots and go karts for sale in the USA and there are upgrade kits all over the place once you know which engine you have that are really not too expensive considering the benefits. Being based on a Honda design I can't imagine parts ever being much of an issue and if they're that close an entire engine swap might be possible if you needed to.

As an aside, I bought an electric bike made in China, the bolt came off the crank for the left pedal in the middle of an intersection...that one the feds got into because there must have been other issues reported with that bike...so go file complaints on the website and the feds may get involved if there are enough on the same models. I almost fell over when the investigator called me a week after I put it in..if not for years of martial arts I would have paniced and gone down in that intersection...it's important to turn in complaints that can affect safety..even if yours is not immediately answered it goes into the database and could help in the future.

Dec 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Helix Parts
by: Anonymous

Posts have indicated that the engine is the same design as the Honda Helix. Will Honda Helix parts fit the V5 engine? Right now, I need to fix a leaky water pump.

Thanks,

Rob

Dec 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No Dealership close by
by: Anonymous

some people want to give credit to CF Moto but to some of us we dont live close to a dealership that will guarantee the bike. i wanted to buy one but now that i did my research i am not interested in owning one of these bikes.

Dec 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not True
by: Jim Zeiser

There are many of these bikes running around doing their owners proud and are no more troublesome than a certain bike from Milwaukee. It all comes down to how competent the dealer who sold it is and how well he problem solves. The people at www.Scootersonly.net aren't having these problems so I'd suggest you call them and find out they repaired any issues they had with their bikes instead of spending extra money on ancient used Japanese models.

Nov 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply
by: Anonymous

100% agree with your comments. Wish I would have known before I spent the money on this crap.

Nov 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Burning your $$$'s making China rich
by: Riding MC's 32 years

Chinese junk. I checked these out at Americade in 2008 because my fiancé was mildly interested in getting her own ride. I have not seen any Chinese two wheelers that are worthy of consideration. Buy a Jap scooter from motorcycle manufacturer and you will not have the problems listed here. You will pay more for a Honda, Yamaha or Suzuki but they are reliable. Piaggio or Vespa isnt a bad choice but pricy for the displacement class.These unsafe boat anchors don't belong on our roads.

Nov 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Problem Bike
by: Anonymous

I have decided that in spring I am replacing battery and selling bike. Want nothing to do with problems I have been having anymore. Company won't stand behind product and I went and added a windscreen and luggage tote on back. Just want my money back for this piece of crap I bought and not buying anything made by them ever again. No one I have spoke to about my problem is willing to help - even the dealership in China (how sad to not stand behind your product).

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Intake Manifold
by: Jim Zeiser

Sometimes the intake manifold is either cracked or worked loose on the 250 engine. Your mechanic should spray the manifold with WD-40 and see if the engine sound changes. It sounds like some kind of vacuum leak is plaguing both your bikes.

Oct 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
would not recommend either
by: king andre'

I got my v5 dec 09. I immediately started having various issues. The dealer I purchased from left me hanging 100%. They went m.i.a. on me and I am just getting my title and registration last week from the dmv since the dealer defaulted. I have had issues with battery staying charged, the mp3/fan/motor fuse keeps blowing, and this hesitation/stalling type problem that the mechanic can't figure out.

This is my first bike and I'm frustrated with it overall. Would not recommend getting!!!

Oct 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CF Moto
by: Anonymous

I purchased a CF Moto V5 back in May and I would NOT recommend this bike to anyone. Have had nothing but problems with bike. Ran okay at first and after about 200 miles was going down road and bike would just stop running. Found out even though I purchased it brand new, they were not willing to replace it with a better bike after had it in for repair many times.

Even contacting main location in China and no assistance there either. Finally found a place to fix it in Pennsylvania and they repaired it but it still hesitates as I am driving it so have been pretty scared to take it too far.

Went to get it out last weekend to ride and it won't even start. Husband said battery died - he put a charge on it all day and it started for a minute and then it died again. Will try new battery in spring and hopefully will run better but if it doesn't, I am selling it.

Never had such problems in my life. Should have stuck with my Suzuki Burgman - just wanted the "bike" look and got stuck with a big headache.

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
uncertainty
by: Big Lu

Hello everyone, i work at a bank and i have a cusotmer that sells the CF Moto V5 and of course he gives me this hi pitch about how good these bikes are. I would like to buy one but I am not sure if these bikes will be a good investment for me. I dont want to be having soo many problems and headaches. Can someone please give me their opinion on the V5, thanks.

Oct 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Call Kathi
by: Jim Zeiser

www.scootersonly.net

Call Kathi there and ask her. I'm sure she can tell where to locate the VIN or engine number for all CF Moto products.

Oct 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Does anyone know where to locate the engine number?
by: King Andre'

Was hoping someone could help with this... I need to locate the engine number for the dmv office to register the bike. Does anyone know where to locate this number?

I was told that it is found usually on the left side where the kick stand mounts to the bike but can not find it.

Tried calling CF Moto but they are not returning my call or email to them. Thanks in advance for info you can help with.

Aug 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bad azz bobber
by: Darins bobber

I turned this into a bobber by cutting off the whole rear end, removing fenders, adding 14" ape hangers, adding solo leather seat and bags. Cost $400 to extend all cables. BAD AZZ!
Will post soon Darin

Aug 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thank you!
by: Anonymous

Thank you Jim, I will certainly contact her. They called me yesterday after having the bike a week and said come get it. Got there and battery was dead again. I'm thinking they did something after changing and putting the new radio in. They don't seem to have a clue about how to repair them. I appreciate your help! I'm in PA.

Aug 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Radio
by: Anonymous

Thanks for the advice.

Aug 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Try This
by: Jim Zeiser

I don't know where you people are located but call Kathy at this outfit.

www.scootersonly.net

She swears by how well CF Moto is treating her as a dealer. Maybe she can offer some advice or get you people operating radios. Tell her Jimmy-kz1000st-sent you.

Aug 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Radio
by: Anonymous

That's what my husband said too. He was leary of me purchasing this bike to begin with and now he says "I told you so". I would never purchase this brand again. I have heard many horror stories about Ridley but I am starting to think paying the higher price for the bike is the better option.

Aug 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Disappointed yet
by: Anonymous

Yeah its really disappointing because I rode the bike and loved it for 2 months until the radio just up and quit and had problems ever since. At the dealer where I got it, said he had trouble getting ahold of CFMoto I guess to even get questions answered. I wondered why this was so cheap, I guess I know why now. You only get what you pay for.

Aug 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Radio
by: Anonymous

I'm the one with the fuel problems from the start and as for your radio, it hasn't worked since I got the bike brand new either. The dealer that did end up fixing the fuel problem said they have a lot of problems with the radio and only recommend using an MP3 player. Got one for my birthday and it doesn't work either. I can't win with this bike either way.

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Don't think thats the problem?
by: Anonymous

Well they had said they took the inline fuse out of the radio (2 I believe they said were there) and still the next day it was dead. I was thinking when they put the new radio in, they hooked something up wrong......so we'll see...its still in the shop hooked up to meters.

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dumb
by: Jim Zeiser

It seems to me if unhooking the radio stopped the problem the the radio was bad. Another new radio should have fixed the problem or putting a switch into the hot wire into the radio that you could turn on and off would also fix the one you have. No brainer.

Aug 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Problems
by: Anonymous

I've had my new 2009 CFmoto 5 for about 5 months....my radio died...they replaced but after they did my battery wouldn't hold a charge...so took back and still can't find the drain. Even replaced the battery....told me outright that radio was causing problems so they unhooked and told me not to use....brand new bike? and can never use the radio.....very disappointed with problems.....

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ownership
by: Anonymous

I have only owned my bike since May of 2010.

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Other half of the question...
by: Anonymous

Could you tell me how long you have owned your V5?

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
V5
by: Anonymous

When I had my bike repaired by Henry's, the part was very inexpensive. The cost of the repair with an hour's labor wasn't even $100.

Aug 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
How long owned?
by: Moondawg

How long have you owned your V5 and are the parts expensive to replace?

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Mechanics
by: Jim Zeiser

Most problems with these things are easily solvable. It just takes a mechanic who is more than a parts changer. It's good you found one. Enjoy the ride, the engine is based on the Honda Helix and they are known to last for extremely high mileages.

Jul 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bike Finally Running
by: Anonymous

The excellent dealership at Henry's Motors in Hanover, PA, finally took an interest in helping me get my bike repaired. They found two crimped lines in the gas tank and replaced the valve on the bottom of the gas tank just in case and now my bike is up and running. Thanks to them, I am able to ride again. Thanks so much Henry's Motors...you are the best.

Jul 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2,500 miles on a V5
by: Larry Brown

I'm up-dating a previous comment. I've just returned from riding my V5 2,500 miles across 2 mountain ranges, through 7 Northwestern states.

Averaged 250 miles per day... my longest day was 370 miles. I had to replace a drive belt in Montana. There was a stocking dealer nearby, so I was underway within 24 hours. The bike ran cool and dependably, getting 71 mpg even in the Rockies.

You don't need to spend huge bucks to see America. Saddle-bags, a top-case, a K-Mart duffle, and an improvised tank-bag turned my V5 into all the road machine I needed.

Jun 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CFMoto Still Having Probs
by: Anonymous

I am very frustrated with this bike. We have been told that the problem sounds like a vapor lock, so my husband removed the gas tank and tried to find a bent wire but never did.

Guess what - it broke down again. I requested a bike replacement and no one seems to want to listen to me. Why in the world purchase a brand new bike that doesn't run and not be able to get it replaced.

I would never recommend to anyone to purchase this bike ever. I love the style and the fact it is an automatic but until they figure out the problems, I have no faith in riding it.

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks
by: Anonymous

Thanks for your comments. My husband ended up taking the gas cap off this weekend and putting his cap from his bike on and the bike had more power than it has ever had and it ran without breaking down. What a simple fix that was. I appreciate all of your responses.

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Here It Is
by: Jim Zeiser

http://scootdawg.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=200cc&action=display&thread=29073

Bad Intake manifold leak. Tell your dealer to keep with the latest news by reading this site or Scootdawg.

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Vacuum Line
by: Jim Zeiser

You have a vacuum problem, either from maladjusted valves or a bad vacuum line or bad gas petcock. Go to www.scootdawg.com forum 250 and up and search the threads. Somebody had the exact same problem and fixed it there. Seriously. The answer to your problem is there.

Jun 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
V5 Problems
by: Anonymous

I purchased my CFMoto V5 on April 30, 2010. After running the bike 180 miles, the bike cut out on me while driving down the road with the throttle at a steady pace. The owner of the dealership can't find anything wrong with it but after we picked it up from the dealership, the bike cut out on me four times within a 5-10 minute timeframe. I am very frustrated. The dealer can't find out what is wrong, he won't replace the bike and he won't give me my money back. I have contacted CFMoto directly and can't get a response. Any thoughts?

Apr 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
QLINK LEGACY
by: acctinatl

I just wanted to make a couple of comments. I used to work for a scooter dealer. CFMoto is an importer of this Chinese bike manufactured by ChunFeng Holding group. Qlink also imports this model but sells it as the Legacy.

I have a 2007 that I have had for almost three years and 8000 miles. I love this bike and now it is my main source of transportation other than public transit to work. It handles well and is just so much fun to drive. I would recommend buying the Legacy from Qlink rather than the V5 from CFMoto for better warranty representation.

Feb 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
diff between cycle/scooter
by: Anonymous

If the motor is in front of you, it's a motorcycle. If the motor sits under or behind you, It's a scooter.

Jan 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Author replies...
by: Anonymous

The V5 has a 250cc engine. Since I haven't sold my Honda Reflex, I've gotten chances to ride both machines, one after the other. The V5 is a motorcycle. The Reflex is a scooter. And yet, I got the V5 because I prefer riding scooters... so it's complicated. If we go by frame design, step-through designs are scooters. Straddle tank designs are motorcycles. But 90%+ of scooters use CVT transmissions and hand brakes. That's the riding experience of scooters - and only a very few expensive and ultra-sophisticated motorcycles are offering automatic (non-CVT) treansmissions. 99.9% have foot shifters & rear brakes & hand clutch / front brake combinations. By that standard, the V5 is a scooter. SO IT'S A HYBRID. That's why people can't decide. It also may be tribal. (Scooter people vs. bikers) There, I'll bet scooter people will take to the V5 first and bikers new to the whole sport may follow. CFMOTO makes a whole line of 150-250cc scooters. So if scooter people were to design a motorcycle, the V3 and V5 are what you'd get. I dunno. Hope this helps.

Jan 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CCs, please...
by: yoly

Also, is it a 250 CC? I like!!! Please DO TELL.

Jan 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No Consensus
by: Jim Zeiser

There was a discussion about it on Scootdawg some time back, Bob. Most people thought it was a bike but it has so many scooter qualities (auto transmission, scooter engine, floorboards, handbrakes) that it was a heady debate. It all comes down to whether you define a scooter as a step through.

Jan 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
"Point of Order" Question
by: Artist Bob

Is that a scooter? Or is that a Motorcycle? Or am I splitting hairs? I'd like to know what the thoughts are on this.

Jan 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like it!
by: Anonymous

Nice Scoot!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Reviews Archives - Chinese CF Moto Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines