2009 Peace Sports VIP Future Champion 49cc (Bash) Scooter Review

by Felix
(Florida, USA)

Yes, the toppings were intact.

Yes, the toppings were intact.

Yes, the toppings were intact. about 30lbs of wet clothes from the laundromat transported 3 miles home. Greatest feat of all: $70 worth of food, strapped down by three bungee cords and transported nearly 10 miles.

Here is my review of my 2009 Peace Sports VIP Future Champion 49cc (Bash) scooter... While there is extensive debate towards the quality of these inexpensive scooters, I have found my VIP to be a reliable scooter and will feel bad when I sell it for a motorcycle.


I purchased it from a relatively new dealer literally across the street from my house for $699 with 0.2 miles on it. While I understand the risks in purchasing a scooter from a dealer with no reputation, I also understand that being the warranty was only good for 30 days both at that dealer and at other dealers, I might as well save $200 by getting it from the lowest "bidder."

First impressions of it were that of skepticism. I have read and heard countless allegations of them being built with inferior parts and labor, and even metal but I have yet to see proof that these things are too cheap to be a good deal.

I broke the engine in throughout the first 500 miles at varying speeds and not the "recommended" >25km/h the entire time because let's face it... I was going faster than that racing to the DMV to get a tag on it before 5 o' clock!*

There is a bit of a vibration noise when accelerating, but it does not seem to be a problem, and the other scoots of the same model seem to exhibit the same symptoms.

There is one problem that has arisen. Within the first 250 miles I would be sitting at a light and the scooter would be lurching forward. I sent the dealer an E-Mail and he told me to stop by and get an idle adjustment (he did it for free) and it ran fine after that.

Now at 1,000 miles (30 days later, lol) with the idle set to just under 1,000 rpm, it began running rough at lights and eventually downright stalled. The problem is new and from my research it may be either a bad coil or the consequence of using the kickstand on uneven ground and having it tip over while running, which would mean gas in the oil and a slow seize emerging.

So in conclusion, my Bash (which is the actual manufacturer, Peace Sports being the importer) has been a solid ride that can hold its own in a town where people race to the next stoplight.

I've developed little difference in my routes from my cycle commuting days, and it is a definite plus to not arrive to class sweaty.

There is ample under-seat storage to hold my flashlight, some tools, rags, and my helmet when not in use. However, I did remove the rear storage container to free up room for oversize objects and even a passenger weighing 250lbs (I weigh 240, so that's 490 lbs).

I will miss it, but a possible commute across the Tampa Bay, which is inaccessible by scooters and a virtual death wish by bicycle has prompted me to have to get something bigger.

Comments for 2009 Peace Sports VIP Future Champion 49cc (Bash) Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 20, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2009 Vip future chapion peace sports NEW
by: Anonymous

My VIP has 12,000 miles I road it in the rain.snow.and heavy winds runs. great just keep the maintenance up .. Great scooter



Dec 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Really Surprised NEW
by: Leo

Hello fellow 49cc bash scooter owners, or past owners, or even future owners. I bought mine from a pawn shop for $475.00. It is a pretty reddish color and a 2010. I just love it. Ride it every day, down here in Florida for about ten miles and have not had a single problem...cranks right up and sits still at red lights and stop signs...It costs only three dollars to fill up and get wishful comments from those big truckers and SUV's. I only drive my Chevy S10 when it is raining or I want to travel more than 10 miles. I was just surprised at all the problems others seem to have. Maybe my time is around the corner. Scooter lover. 5 Dec 2014

Dec 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Really Surprised NEW
by: Leo

Hello fellow 49cc bash scooter owners, or past owners, or even future owners. I bought mine from a pawn shop for $475.00. It is a pretty reddish color and a 2010. I just love it. Ride it every day, down here in Florida for about ten miles and have not had a single problem...cranks right up and sits still at red lights and stop signs...It costs only three dollars to fill up and get wishful comments from those big truckers and SUV's. I only drive my Chevy S10 when it is raining or I want to travel more than 10 miles. I was just surprised at all the problems others seem to have. Maybe my time is around the corner. Scooter lover. 5 Dec 2014

Dec 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Really Surprised NEW
by: Leo

Hello fellow 49cc bash scooter owners, or past owners, or even future owners. I bought mine from a pawn shop for $475.00. It is a pretty reddish color and a 2010. I just love it. Ride it every day, down here in Florida for about ten miles and have not had a single problem...cranks right up and sits still at red lights and stop signs...It costs only three dollars to fill up and get wishful comments from those big truckers and SUV's. I only drive my Chevy S10 when it is raining or I want to travel more than 10 miles. I was just surprised at all the problems others seem to have. Maybe my time is around the corner. Scooter lover.

May 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
what i exspiranced NEW
by: shawnee niki facebook

I first got it, it would hesitate,go, hesitate. the gas cap has a dip to when dew or rain can seap into the gas. kept cleaning carborator, was dew.clutch went, now a tir. nt find a tire no where. need help. 2009 peace sports 49cc. where can I go. Brooksville, fl.

Apr 07, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
bad choke NEW
by: joel

i have a 2010 bash renagade the thing will not start like the choke is not working has any body else have a problem with the electric choke

Apr 07, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
bad choke NEW
by: joel

i have a 2010 bash renagade the thing will not start like the choke is not working has any body else have a problem with the electric choke

Nov 15, 2012
Rating
starstar
Piece of S. NEW
by: Mane

My VIP "Peace Sports" scooter has now 2000 Km
I took it to the dealer where I bought it brand new, 4 months ago. Paid $1,099
It was slowing down to 20mph!. Apparentely it was a “flat tire”. Unbelievable!
They changed the whole tire because it was kind of damaged and voila! Back to 40 - 45mph.

Nov 15, 2012
Rating
starstar
Piece of S. NEW
by: Mane

My VIP "Peace Sports" scooter has now 2000 Km
I took it to the dealer where I bought it brand new, 4 months ago. Paid $1,099
It was slowing down to 20mph!. Apparentely it was a “flat tire”. Unbelievable!
They changed the whole tire because it was kind of damaged and voila! Back to 40 - 45mph.

Nov 15, 2012
Rating
starstar
Piece of S. NEW
by: Mane

My VIP "Peace Sports" scooter has now 2000 Km
I took it to the dealer where I bought it brand new, 4 months ago. Paid $1,099
It was slowing down to 20mph!. Apparentely it was a “flat tire”. Unbelievable!
They changed the whole tire because it was kind of damaged and voila! Back to 40 - 45mph.

Sep 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Deal NEW
by: kENNETH

Bought this Bash Scooter in July 2012 brand new,only had 30 miles on it when Speedometer cable broke,dealer said not covered by warranty,400 miles later frame weld broke off allowing rear tire to rub and move off center point by 8 to 10 inches.I am almost sure the dealer is going to say not covered Warranty.My advise don't buy Bash Scooters or their Peaceful Warrior Brand. This maybe just a Lemon?

Sep 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Deal NEW
by: kENNETH

Bought this Bash Scooter in July 2012 brand new,only had 30 miles on it when Speedometer cable broke,dealer said not covered by warranty,400 miles later frame weld broke off allowing rear tire to rub and move off center point by 8 to 10 inches.I am almost sure the dealer is going to say not covered Warranty.My advise don't buy Bash Scooters or their Peaceful Warrior Brand. This maybe just a Lemon?

Mar 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
new rider NEW
by: dd

I got mine in febuary of this year. I have over a thousand km on it. It seems to stall while warming up and when i stop at lights or stop signs. There's a loud vibration when i accelorate. It sounds a little rough sometimes. Sometimes it only will reach 25mph. i dont know if this is normal or what please help.

Nov 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2009 Bash not starting
by: Anonymous

We just purchased one used that only had 330 mile on it. It is a 2009 bash. We had it a week and now it will not start. It tries too and then it will flood. I wonder if it just was not rode enough and the carb is in need of some repair or something. We have to take it all the way to Tampa to get it looked at for $50.00 a hour. We paid 595 for it and after all of this I hope it will not cost too much to fix it. I guess when you buy used thats what you get. After further research I see we could have bought a new one for 800. Lesson learned on used scooters.

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Brake Squeeks
by: Richard

I also bought my scooter from a dealer here in Port St. Lucie, Florida. I have taken it back to the dealer twice (well within the warranty period) as the rear brake squeaks VERY loud. They tell me all scooters squeak and will not repair it.

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Crap
by: Anonymous

I bought mine may 2011 from a dealer in port st lucie florida not sure why i paid 1299 for the damn thing. after more research later found them for 750 with helmet and trunk, So far my issues are the battery(seemed to have exploded) and the kick start snapped completely. dealer says the kickstart could be covered but it may not. Any where to get these fixed for cheap?? I only have 100 miles on it.

Joe

May 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
vibration from rear wheel
by: Pat Brady

I have a VIP Peace Sports scooter and I have a vibration from the Rear once in a while it dont happen but its weard feels like something gets loose maybe the Bearings? or something

anyone ever have that happen or hear or it what is it?

Pat Sarasota Fla

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cause of problem
by: Felix

So I took apart the back end of the scooter today and was greeted by a small black spring, loose from the clutch. One of the clutch springs fell out somehow. However, not my problem any more as I am selling it.

Will I buy another scoot? Someday. but for now, I am making a step towards motorcycle ownership.

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cause of problem
by: Felix

So I took apart the back end of the scooter today and was greeted by a small black spring, loose from the clutch. One of the clutch springs fell out somehow. However, not my problem any more as I am selling it.

Will I buy another scoot? Someday. but for now, I am making a step towards motorcycle ownership.

Dec 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Happy VIP Owner
by: Loosegrit

I am on my second VIP 8 months old and 9000 miles I use it everyday. If you like to tinker this a great scooter.

I change oil every 500 miles. Utube video will show you how.

1500 miles change spark plug, clean air filter.

4000-5000 miles replace carborator. see Utube.

Scooter not being used is the worst thing you can do, run it at least every other day.

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It may be the clutch
by: Felix

After writing this, I went to do more research on the exact cause and symptoms and it appears my clutch is binding. That explains why it's not cutting loose when I get down to 3,000 rpm like it used to and why the rear wheel spins while it is up on the stand.

Going to take a look at it Friday to see for sure.

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
1,000 Mile Event
by: Jim Zeiser

If you keep it the time has come for a valve adjustment. Stalling and rough running are a sure sign that the exhaust valve has tightened up and is in need of more clearance.

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines