2008 XY260 T-4 Scooter Review

by John Mello
(N. Las Vegas, NV)

260 CC XY T-4

260 CC XY T-4

Good scooter! Poor quality control! DON'T BUY FROM NST CORP IN EAST LA CALF. They are liars and very dishonest.

Comments for 2008 XY260 T-4 Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
on prolems NEW
by: Anonymous

Just sold a 2008 bought it with 400 miles drove it 2000 miles this summer trouble free handled well was alot of fun there not all bad Gerald in Fayette Maine

Oct 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
on prolems NEW
by: Anonymous

Just sold a 2008 bought it with 400 miles drove it 2000 miles this summer trouble free handled well was alot of fun there not all bad Gerald in Fayette Maine

Sep 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dash compartment parts NEW
by: Wayne

I cannot find a site that I can order a new dash compartment replacement lock for the XY260T-4 scooter. Can anyone help me?

Sep 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
xy260t-4 NEW
by: darkstartwo

yep i got one 2008 red well champain puchased the bike from a place called metroplitan scooter in dc i got the bike after talking a few times to some guy and finaly arrived put it together after reading the book had a cd that was saposed to have a vidio ya got a cd blank ok so to go one i and a mechanic certifyed gm and bikes got everything together and turned the key and the fun began
1-fuel outlet nipple welded shutt
2-battery was crap put 14 amp gel cell in ++++
3-when 3/4 full on gas it would die had to move fuel pump to different location in chassie
4-drill out crushed pin holes to larger breather hole in gass cap no big shit happens
now where it get scarry
5-had only two bolts holding the engin in and the rear saspension to the frame yep we missed it no bolts where ever in those hols i rode the bike for a thousads miles and about passed out during an oil change the mechainic showed me this ok so five bolts later and every bolt that holds the engin in titened
6-the safty start and wiring to the syleniod is dead now somewhere in that twenty feet of harnis too much work to fix so get this i used a dual fog light relay to the start side of starter and ran wires up to dash inside the glove box he he try steeling this note going to happen dead man switch hidden
7-the dash where the ignition is located is pulling away between the two halfs but does not seem to bother any thing on dash
8-body stand had to be re adjusted so it would not hit the bottem of crank case yep took some metal off no big
so far today it has 28 hundred mills on the bike and no other problems as of yet knock on wood but i payed 2300.00 for the bike got screwed out of my warenty the company disapierd i mean poof gone i sent a friend to find them they owed me a helmet never seen that i drilled out the pitcock after cutting it grand total 1700.00 dollars more spent on this jewl on top what i payed for it now i can say unpluging the limiter on the side of the engin did produce a nice 99 mph with my 300 lb butt glued to the seat wow eat your hart out vespa but for all the pain and money i have a bike that so far i wont throw a stick of dinomite under it just yet but if i do i will yout tube it for every one to injoy untill then if you see me you will know its mine two blue dragons are stensiled into the farring on the front hope no one else has had a nightmare like mine im looking too either putt a boost bottel on my bike just too see how it works or subaru has a tiny little turbo and if i can resize the ofice and limit the boost to about three lbs i will let ya know if im still alive after this nos is out burn up the motor

Jul 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My Top Speed is Back NEW
by: CRUZINDJ

I went to my auto mechanic friend and I ask him to show me in my 2008 XY 260 T 4 scooter where I could find the vacuum diaphragm. I unscrewed 2 screws and open the cap. I saw the white plastic with a toothed like zigzag pattern ( as mentioned by: Nails dated Oct.7, 2012 in his Review). Using the Permatex RTV Ultra black silicone ( others use Ultra Blue RTV silicone ), I coated the toothed like zigzag pattern of the white plastic. I put back the cap and the 2 screws. Let the silicone dry for 1 -2 hours. ( others let the silicone dry for 12-24 hours )

And now I am so happy because my top speed is back.


Jun 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Top Speed--carb. vacuum diaphram NEW
by: Anonymous

Fixed my top speed by looking in the carb. and finding the vaccum diaphram.....at top of carb. Two screws hold the cover on it. Tried the RTV blue and it did not hold up to the gasoline. It is the plastic part in middle of diaphram that separates which lifts the primary jet needle up. Clean that piece with alcohol, snap back together and hold in place while "super gluing" plastic together. Has nothing to do with air pressure on top and bottom. Problem was that with plastic seperating it would not lift the primary jet needle high enough for full throttle/speed. Still holding good after 2 years. Before fixing top speed was 50 mph @ 5000 rpm max. Now 70 mph @ 7000 rpm. "Nails" nailed the problem for us!

Jun 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Top Speed--carb. vacuum diaphram NEW
by: Anonymous

Fixed my top speed by looking in the carb. and finding the vaccum diaphram.....at top of carb. Two screws hold the cover on it. Tried the RTV blue and it did not hold up to the gasoline. It is the plastic part in middle of diaphram that separates which lifts the primary jet needle up. Clean that piece with alcohol, snap back together and hold in place while "super gluing" plastic together. Has nothing to do with air pressure on top and bottom. Problem was that with plastic seperating it would not lift the primary jet needle high enough for full throttle/speed. Still holding good after 2 years. Before fixing top speed was 50 mph @ 5000 rpm max. Now 70 mph @ 7000 rpm. "Nails" nailed the problem for us!

Jun 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Where can I find the vaccum diaphragm? NEW
by: cruzindj

I own a 2008 XY 260 T 4. Will someone please take a digital picture where I can find the vacuum diaphragm and post it. Or describe where to find it. I need to put Ultra blue RTV silicone on the plastic in my hope it will fix my top speed issues.

May 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
parts NEW
by: Anonymous

I just purchased the same and cant seem to find a sight to purchase parts when needed thanks

May 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
parts NEW
by: Anonymous

I just purchased the same and cant seem to find a sight to purchase parts when needed thanks

Oct 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Xy260t-4
by: Raven East

Got mine new in the crate. Died at 20 miles. The stator wires were broke inside the case. ( common problem with the lower mid range scoots. I know because I work at a dealer as head mechanic here in South Carolina USA.) The company warrantied the bike, I got it like that working at this shop, and they sent another new one in the crate. No problems since.

Bike rides good and has decent power. Quality control on these are if-y at best so unless you know how to work on then stick with the actual Linhia bikes or even better brands. You do get what you pay for.

This bike I will keep as everything is holding well. I also enjoy the work on they and have a stash of parts as I need them. Taking long trips on it have been no problem.

The only real problem I see with the bike is the stock tires and the brake pads. Both are weak and wear down quickly. Got some Michelin tires and a fresh set of after market pads and better than new.

I have added Shark Audio systems to the bike and navi, and even a CB and the system keeps up no problems. For the cost (about 2100 ordering mine retail.) it really isn't a bad bike. I drive mine daily as I have no car anymore and other than the brakes and tires it was worth the money and time.

R. East

Oct 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
xingue 260
by: Phane

I've had it with this scooter and its brother the CF Moto Fashion. I've bought me a used Kawasaki. Now I'm selling both to the highest bidder!!

Oct 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Xy260 T-4, MC-62, VOG.-260
by: rp

Eric, Phane.

I have the 2008 Roketa MC-62 (L4S) which the manual says is the XY260. The L4S is the first three of the VIN and stands for Xingyue Manufacturing or motor co. the manufacture of the scooter.

Now that I've worked on it a while, the main problem seems to be the connectors snd immediate wires. As an example, the main hot wire from the battery to the ignition switch connector was corroded at the connector and the wire itself was blackish for about 2-3 inches towards the ignition switch. Others have written of the connectors at the coil coming off and/or needing to be re-attached.

I am replacing the main connectors with the Trailer Hitch (bullit type) and soldering the loose connectors. I hope it all works. For me its getting the "blue spark" first, because not having it can make the scooter run like it might have a carb problem.

Just trying to help each other...

Sep 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Model 2009 fabulous cruiser
by: Gaetan

I bought mine in Canada sold by "Chironex" model Legend 300 till 2009, since then it's been switch for another 250 model probably because it sold out. Anyway I had the manifold issue at first and they fixed it free of charge, now my scooter has 5200 kms on it.never had to do valves adjustment, only regular maintenance oil change 10w 30 and gear oil with same. I cruise for 350 to 400 kms. 200/250 miles often at 115km/h, 70m/h without any problems.
To my experience the engine idle much better if you use high octane gasoline 92-93.
Also my scooter had light bulbs for headlight and I replace them with H4 halogen 35/35 this is a big improvment over the stock, but you will need to replace the harnest connectors.
Now I am thinking to upgrade them again with eurolight wich are whiter "bluish teint" just wonder if I could used a 55/55 indtead, perhaps one 35/35 and another 55/55.
If someone knows the output wattage for the bike , I would appreciate the info.
Best scooter for the money, I have had Honda reflex 250, Aprilla Atlantic 500, Yamaha Majesty 400 and others smalls 50ccs.
This one for the comfort is unique even at top speed near 80m/h , I weight 180lbs + 20lbs in gears an cargo. It's good 2up also but slower uphill 2up.
They only problem that I see,they are sold out every where I lock.
If you can find one go ahead you will love that baby.

Sep 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
slow leak
by: Damon

for some reason I have a slow leak in my back tire. Someone told me to put fix a flat in the tire. Would that help or would it harm my alloyd rims?

Sep 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xy260 t-4
by: Phane

To Eric: I have to agree with you; however I bought mine new and it started out great but as time wore on it turned out to be a love hate relationship! I loved it at first but now I hate it!!! I rode mine about 5000 miles and now it is sitting in my storage and i don't think that I will spend another dime on it unless it is when I take it to the river and dump it in!!!!I wouldn't wish this heap of ____ on anyone. It is just that bad!!!!!!!!!!!

Sep 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 XYG 260T Piece of shit that I bought
by: Eric R.

Where to begin, I bought this load of crap off craigslist with 2,700 miles on it for $1,200 which I thought was a good deal. I rode it all summer long with very little problems. One day the wiring harness fell on to the muffler as the clamp broke and shorted out the electrical. Trapping my butt 60 miles from home in the middle of no where. Thats where all te troubles begin.

I fixed this or I thought rode it for abut 1,000 miles more. Bike broke down again stranding my ass in nowhere C.A. in the country. Towed it home found rust in the fuel lines and filter huge flakes in the tank. Cleaned and repaired all. Bike cranks up and runs for several minutes while on stand. I try to get on ride down the street, the power goes away and cuts off.

Every fuel line and vacuum line was cracked; changed all with American stuff. Still runs the same. Took the fuel pump out and cleaned the inside plastic diaphram put back together. Still tuns like crap. Tried carb cleaner on the scooter still runs like crap.

The message here is if your bike has not broke yet, be prepared as this piece of crap will break down and leave you stranded. If anyone has any other idea on what to try to get this junk working at least until I can sell it off on some one else lol let me know.

Oh! Yeah I have about 90 hours -- yeah 90 hours weekends and nights -- trying to repair this crap pile. If you have not bought one, do yourself a favor and buy yourself a name brand used scooter over a new Chinese piece of sh#$. You will be much happier in the long run unless you have a spare 100 hours or more to screw with this junk.

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
xy260t 2008
by: gunman 204

oil is 5w30 gear oil is 90wight .it is a good bike. i have 1550 miles on mine know.have had it to 82 mph just starting toping out at 65 mph mit need a vail job intake .004 ex .005 got this info from.scoot dawg forums.com hope this help you.

Jul 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just the Obvious
by: R P


I would start by checking the handle switch to make sure the connection is not loose. Then take off the front cover and check the wire connections. Please keep us posted if you find anything.

Thanks

Jul 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
XY260t-4
by: SuburbanKing

I have a 2008 got it used and love the bike. I do have a starting problem. Sometimes when I start it (it will start) when I let go of the front brake (required to start) it dies. If anyone can help please do.

Jun 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rough Running
by: R P


Took out my electrical tester and checked out the coil. Coil good. Wire good. Spark plug cap ---
bad. Did I already say I didn't like the way the air tube pressed up against the cap?.

I used the specs from the Yamaha YP250
service manual.

Purchased 2 from partsforscooters.com $14.00.

Jun 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
repair of intake manifold
by: phane

I took the broken intake manifold to O'Reillys and tried radiators hoses til I found one that squeezed on the carburetor intake

Jun 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
intake manifold hose repair
by: firej

so what size hose was use for this????

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xt260 t-4 scooter
by: phane

I've take my carburetor loose and found a whole in the rubber gasket at the top part so I ordered a new one off of ebay that looks like the one that came on the bike. I hope it is an exact match. If it is then I will be back on the road again on my roketa 62-250.

Jun 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Poor running
by: R P

1. I belive the running rough issue for me is electrical. I tested the spark plug by resting it on the engine and cranking. All I got was a white spark, not a blue. I ordered a new coil and CDI and hopefully that will do it.
2. I did not like the way the air tube was resting on the spark plug, so I did some customizing and moved it to the seat compartment, just behind the battery. My concern was the pressure the tube was or could have been putting on the plug wire and causing the shorting out.
3. I'm fairly sure I fixed the tempeture guage problem. the commection on the sending plug just came right off. I took off the rubber cover and squezed the connector with a pliers. This piece is only 1/2 - 3/4 long and 1/8 dia. There a 2 slits on each side of the connector and t tapped them in using a small screw driver & hammer. Put rubber cover back on and it is no longer loose.
Silicone top of rubber boot.
I have a Haynes Scooter Repair Manual 50-250cc

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Running rough issue.
by: Anonymous

I purchased mine in Oct 2010 and have the same running rough issue. I did a complete PDI last weekend and afterward it started up better then it did before. My temperature guage does not always work. I'm hopeing that cleaning the connecting wire will end that problem.
I attached a loose vaccum hose to the bottom of the air box (right side).I took the air box apart and there was a sponge filter over the open nipple that the vaccum hose fit over. I was checking out the electric choke when I droped the hold down screw.(Lost) Will get a replacement this weekend and continue the journey with readjusting the carb.

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xt260 t-4 scooter
by: phane

4546 miles on her now! Boy have I had my share of troubles with this bike!!! I believe my biggest problem is the carburetor. I know that need of a valve adjustment is supposed to be the end-all-cure all, but the carb can cause a lot of problems if is has a sticking choke or just plain dirty.

I've ordered a new 30 mm carb/with choke as a package deal. I'm going to see if this fixes my [problems]. I mean I can still ride the bike, but I'd rather not go very far on it until known issues have been eradicated!

May 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Here for Key
by: Jim Zeiser

Any locksmith. I went to one for a key for my Big Ruckus or

ebartolet@live.com

I bought a key blank from Ebay from him. It was perfect. I had it cut at the locksmith who also had a blank for my bike so I had him cut another. Now I have three keys.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
key blank
by: Anonymous

does anyone know where I can get a key blank for my scooter?

Mar 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xy260 t-4
by: phane

I have just passed the 2000 mile mark and I've gotten my new manifold from National online scooter parts and it exactly matches the original; but I'm saving it until the repaired manifold goes bad!!!!! I love this Mc-62-250 bike because it looks good, rides comfortable, and it is fast. I've ridden it up to 86 mph!!!!

Mar 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xt260 t-4 scooter
by: phane

Oh yes! It was definitely the cracked intake manifold in the rubber part. I can now set my idle and it doesn't go dead at stops. I had it up to 86 mphs on the gauge!!!! Now it rides like it did at first before the intake cracked!

Mar 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xt260 t-4 scooter
by: phane

Tuesday, I went to O'Rielly's auto parts store and purchased two radiator hoses to use as a repair to my intake manifold while I wait for National Online scooter store to ship me my replacement intake manifold!

Wednesday morning I took a 46 mile round-trip to Lake Village, Ar. On my way up there my scooter began acting like it was trying to die and lose power. It turns out that when I repaired the intake manifold I had inadvertently loosened some bolts on the carburetor and one had come out allowing the vacuum seal around the float to lose pressure (creating the same symptoms that occurred right about the time the intake manifold had cracked in the beginning of all of my troubles.

I went back to O'Reilly's and got some bolts to go back into carb. Well anyway after doing so My problems all disappeared. Turns out the radiator hose used to repair the intake manifold has done the trick.

It might not even be necessary to replace the old repaired manifold with a new one because this patch is stronger, and more flexible than what came new on the bike. Also turns out that this bike... the CMS TBX impressor is not a VOG 260... but in fact is a Roketa mc 62-250..with a 257 cc engine. Vog 260 parts may not be interchangeable with this roketa!

Mar 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply to Phane
by: Anonymous

It is best you check the intake manifold real close with a magnifying glass. Mine too looked like it was cracked but upon close examination it was not. Loss of power and speed was a major problem with my scooter. Read the article below from Nails on Oct. 7, 2010 and try that before buying new parts. After 1 1/2 years and mechanics going through it piece by piece--it was only solved when Nails printed his discovery. Now it cruises at 75mph!!!! Besides it only takes $6.97 to fix and is worth eliminating that possibility first.

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2008 xt260 t-4 scooter
by: phane

I purchased this scooter in February 2011. It started out with a minor starter problem (at about 400 miles), which I found out was connected to the primary problem, a large crack in the intake manifold. I discovered it from reading on a scooter forum about what would cause a sudden drop in power and speed.

Turns out that the dealership that I bought this scooter from is aware of this intake manifold problem because it is common. I now have about 810 miles on my scooter and am awaiting the arrival of my intake manifold. I am hoping this is the only thing I will have to fix on it for a while.

Other than that this is a nice looking, modern, and nice running scooter. I would like to know where I can find a different brand of intake manifold because I really don't want to replace it with the same type of defective brand that came on it.

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Xingyue 260T-4 help
by: Anonymous

Anyone with a Xingyue 260T-4 needs to locate a service manual with all the specifications for the scooter! Closest one I came up with is the Yamaha YP 250 Service Manual.

You can find it at powerscooters.org/manuals/yamaha.htm... click on Yamaha then click on YP-250 Yamaha Majesty.

Another good manual with specific directions is the "Haynes" Twist N Go Scooter 50cc-250cc manual. The Yamaha Majesty Manual gives the specs needed. The Haynes Manual gives overall general instructions for many scooter repairs. Good instructions, tips and repair information in both.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DB
by: daniel brown

I purchased the 260 XINGYUE April 2010, paid $2099 +300 for delivery. The scooter ran great for 324 miles then stopped, has not run since. The scooter is great looking, rides very comfortable.

The biggest problem is you cannot get a repair manual for it. My wife thinks I got the shaft, but, I don't think so. Right now I can't enjoy it sooo I'm a Little disappointed.

If there is anyone who can give me directions on how to test the electrical system, I'd love to hear it!

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
star
Discouraged Dan Sr.
by: daniel brown

I purchased the xy260 Xingyue scooter in April 2010; paid $2395 delivered... the scooter ran outstanding for 324 miles then one day it stopped has not ran since.

I had a dealer of scooters pick it up for repair all they did was burnout the starter. Cannot find anyone to give advice on this scooter. It has no fire to the coil. The CDI has power going in but none out. If someone would please call me on cell phone 407-279-9980 or home 407-350-3569 ask for dan brown sr, about his scooter. dan brown sr/ THANKS

Nov 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Chinese Nightmare,, Lolllll
by: Ralph

Ralph from Miami ( ralphy33196@yahoo.com )
I have been reading everyones comments and my Xinghia 260 has all the problems mentioned here
with only 1020 miles after buying it with only 750 miles I have had more problems than fun Electrically the bike is a mess, it starts when ever feels like it, spark is very weak after charging battery lights and board doesn t work now after many times of trying to start it the starting motor sounds like is only spinning without engaging no gears ( Starting motor gear looks ok ) Im afraid it could be the motor starting gears.
Well this bike has been a big nightmare
I don t recomend it to anyone, the good thing is that I m learning alot about fixing moppets,, Lol
If anyone has any solution to my never ending electrical nightmare please write me
Thank you

Oct 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks to "Nails".........
by: RCW

Nails, you get a "5 Star Rating" as well as this page! Thanks to your comment regarding fixing your scooter speed problem I NO LONGER have a problem with my 2008 XY260T-4 Scooter! Followed your directions in applying Ultra Blue silacone to the outside edge of the plastic center fastener in the diaphram. Just like you said--top speed improved, up hill speed improved and it runs better than it did new! Can't thank you enough as this has been a problem for more than 1 1/2 years. As a female rider this scooter is great....as long as it runs without problems. I like the balance, auto shifting, trunk space, comfortable seat, and gauges. When getting gas my scooter gets lots more looks and comments than my hubby's Honda Shadow with all the chrome!

Oct 11, 2010
Rating
starstar
not 5 star
by: Joe k

must have missed the star rating early on my post I rate scooter 2 stars

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
many problems
by: Joe K

I have owned the vog 260 for 2 years now this scooter has one problem after another,I have been working on this thing 1.5 yrs that's right I only have 1065 miles because of continued problems,I have a vibration In it since day 1 at 3500-5000 rpms have wasted numerous hrs trying to fix and currently still trying to correct vib.dealer Is useless the made it worst and shorted out my electrical system that I had to buy a new wiring harness, it is not reliable at this time from vib, engine has been completely redone including having the rotor and start ring balanced,new crankshaft,carbs,after road test today I get back and now have fuel leak back apart again now the fuel sending unit is leaking bad seal at wires (factory)

This will be my last china scooter I do not recommend this scoot to anybody at this time when i get this thing fix and ride more than work on this POS then maybe I can do a good review,
then again maybe I just got the 8 ball of the batch

buyer beware ,you get what you pay for . IF YOU DO PLAN TO BUY ONE BE PREPARED TO SPEND LOTS OF TIME FIXING. when it runs like its supposed too its is great other than that it's a BIG PIECE OF S---

yours truly Joe K

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My top speed issues solved. Maybe you can too.
by: Nails

I had a top speed issue at approx 3500 miles. Ran like a 100cc motor instead of 260cc. Replaced carb, and it worked like a champ, until about 7000 miles. This time, I could not buy a replacement on ebay for $49. Cheapest I found was around $170. So I diagnosed the problem.

It appears there is a manufacturing or design issue in the plastic that clamps the vacuum diaphragm which lifts the needle up to allow more gas to flow. There are two plastic pieces that snap together that "sandwich" the diaphragm to seal the low pressure side (top of diaphragm) and the high pressure side (bottom of diaphragm).

Over time, this loosens up and the seal is compromised allowing the air to pass from lower side to the top side, causing a lower differential in pressure and not lifting the needle as much as it used to.

What I did was use Ultra Blue RTV silicone from an auto parts store and coated where the two pieces are locking together (looks kind of like a toothed zigzag pattern). This is on the top side of the diaphragm, around the outside of the hole that the spring goes into it.

After doing this, I got the same, or even better performance than when new. I can easily cruise at 80 mph on level ground at 1000 ft above sea level.

It has more power left in the throttle, but if I go full throttle, it is still gaining speed at 85 mph, but eventually the fuel pump can not keep up with the demand. No big deal. At 65 mph, it runs very efficient with lots of power to accelerate.

Other than vacuum hose leaks, the muffler falling off, and replacing a rear wheel bearing, I've been pretty happy. Seems like the engine will run for a very long time, as it runs, starts and idles great with 7900 miles on it so far.

Sep 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Xingyue XY260T-4 with power loss
by: Anonymous

Xingyue XY260T-4 2008 female owner--this machine can be a pleasure or headache! I've a beautiful red one. Up to 4300 miles, it ran 70mph with few problems.

After replacing the fuel filters and all rubber hoses to American made, it finally starts with no problems. The variator roller weights wore and it slowed to 55mph top end speed with 45mph top end going up hills... sick!

First problem being... no manual available with exact specifications for replacing parts. Surely someone in China can write a manual to go with the bike!

Mechanic after mechanic has gone over it and can find no reason why top speed has gone to 55 mph @ 5400rpm. Replaced spark plug, checked engine compression, replaced/tightened all lines, checked air filter and lines, checked carburetor, changed roller weights, changed belt.

If you can find a manual with specs, I want one! If you know what to do to raise the uphill climb speed and top speed, I'd like to know. When it runs well, it is great, but 45mph uphill on highways with 65-70 mph speed limits puts one in danger.

Right now, I would call it a good "in town" bike where you don't need to go over 45 mph uphill/55 top speed! Would not buy it again knowing what I now know--like a Chinese puzzle--headaches and costly! Bought a Kawasaki Vulcan instead to ride!

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Avoid ABC Bikes, Los Angeles
by: L Carson

Purchased new 2008 in December 2009, after six months still could not get Certificate of Origin signed, hence, no DMV would touch my attempts to register scooter.

Finally it took Small Claims and DMV investigators to get results, foreign female owner, find other retailer to make purchase.

Cool 260CC and I plan to buy another new one, this time making sure all ownership documents are in order.

LC

-->

Apr 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need seat lock and rest for a xy260t-4
by: Anonymous

Anybody tell me where I could find parts for the xy260-4 the latch where the seat locks the who piece broke and it's also part of the back seat rest

Mar 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Gear oil
by: Anonymous

Use 50% 85w120 and 50% Lucas oil additive for best wear and tear results. If you have more the 7500 miles on the rear drive and have not replaced the components yet and they are not making the noises indicating replacement or have just started, use 100% lucas gear oil for best longevity of the components. I use 100% right form new from the floor, and have zero wear and am now at 8000 miles. They say to replace them between 5000 and 7500. With the wind at my back and no noise, I'll keep doing it

Mar 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Horsepower loss and stalls
by: Anonymous

I found the problem. To the guy having the same problem, pull of the cover under the front portion of the seat. Look onder the air filter housing. You will see the air flow tube below it. The tension they have on the tube is too much and easily falls off the housing if it is not tight enough. /this causes an unrestricted airflow that the carberator depends on for vacuum. Loosen the second hose clamp from the air filter housing,place hte tube back oon the air filter and tighten as tight as you can, then tighten the second clamp. This should bring your horsepowert back to range. Also, does it seem to chug? Thats because the airflow tube rests against the sparkplug boot, causing it to short-out. Cure: Take off the wire boot and water shield, cut a tire plug to size to go into the the water shield between it and the boot and place back on the spark plug. The heat will slightly melt the plug and cure it of the short. Note, this fix lasts for about 3 months and you will have to do it again. You will notice less stalling and better mileage immediately

Mar 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
scooter
by: Anonymous

mine is haveing the same problem I only get from 60 to 68 mph at 5500rpm on my scooter but over all it runs nice. Does anyone have any idea.. the book says it goes up to 60mph but everyware else says 75+.... also does anyone know the correct type of gear oil that should be in?

Jan 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Valve adjustment
by: Anonymous

I have a xingyue xy260 t4 scooter. Can you tell me what the valve adjustment should be? After this recent cold spell in florida, I now am only able to get up to 5500 rpm and there is a delay in throttle response similar to vw bug when its valves are out of adjustment. Your help is appreciated.

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Owner of this same scooter
by: Anonymous

Hello folks! I am an owner of a 2008 scooter just like this one and I must say that in the 3200 miles I have on it that it has been an awesome machine in every way!

Please realize that all Chinese scooters are made CHEAP but that's the name of the game and that is a scooter that Americans can afford. I did my homework and found this scooter to be the very best build out of all the Chinese scooters. I have had NO PROBLEMS!!

Also this scooter has a small wheel for carb adjustment and the valves are very easy to adjust just like 97% of the motorcycles on the road today. I weigh 230 lbs and between the very comfortable and quiet ride I have had no problems with the suspension at all.

It has the heaviest of fork tubes of its class and price. I paid $1500.00 for this same machine because it was a 2008 left over and that is a GREAT price. Please don't let other discourage you about this scooter... it is GREAT! and top of the line for China.

OK yes China is making more improvements as the years go on and that's a good thing because over the years they have been learning from their mistakes, but there is NOTHING wrong with this model 260cc scooter.

So just because a few people have had problems or are making up dumbass stories about this scooter out of jealousy and wished they were owners of one of them themselves, DON'T be discouraged and if you can find a 2008 BUY IT!

If you take care of it and don't try and beat it in the ground it will go there for you. NICE SCOOTER!

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yes, this is a Xingyue (Shing-wa) scooter.
by: Jmandjt

This is the old model. The current version is an almost complete re-design. New all-aluminum rear end has a mono gas/oil/spring shock that is rider adjustable with the turn of a knob; new front fork is stronger, lighter and increases hydrolic travel by 3 inches; brakes now are twin calaper and the discs are 3cm larger; the valves are now self-adjusting and idle adjustment is done with your fingers via remote knob. With many other upgrades the only thing that remains the same is the "Burgmanesque" plastic. It remains however, a cheap Chinese scooter in many of the details. Be prepaired to fix lots of problems common to most Chinese scooters; even the best ones like this.

Oct 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Check Around
by: Jim Zeiser

If you go to www.scootdawg.com forum, 250 and up you'll see many people with this scooter, the VOG 260 and other variations having problems. Right now somebody is having a problem with a bad variator, manifold or something that keeps the scooter from reaching a decent cruising speed. I'm glad you like yours, but this model is known for ongoing issues.

Oct 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CHECK AGAIN!
by: Anonymous

Hello Doug... hate to pop your bubble but this scooter is not sold by Tank! And it is not a Tank brand scooter as well. This is China's top of the line scooters! Hands down! This 260 T-4 scooter shown here is a Xingyue. They are the best built 260 cc line scooters in China, a clone of the Burgman.

Also if you took this exact scooter for a test ride I can tell you that the Idle RPMs were not set well.I get the normal vibs when mine is it idle. Yes this engine has the longest of strokes but has a LOT of power for its size.For $ 1600.00 I couldent pass this up. It is the most comfortable and quiet well built scooter I have ever owned from China.

Oct 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
rough
by: Doug

I test rode one of these about a year ago at a local Tank dealership. This dealer has a very good reputation and had several of them on his show room floor, so I thought I'd check it out. It rode pretty well, but had an irritating vibration at idle, for that reason alone I was not interested in the scooter, he told me that there was no way to get rid of the vibration.

Sep 26, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Nice Scooter
by: Anonymous

I beg to differ with the trouble maker guy ! This is a great scooter and very fast as well. Only thing is the end of production line in China where the quality control and inspections are weak.

All in all I own one of these myself and it has 9000 miles on it with NO trouble at all. When I bought it the fuel line was hooked to the vacuum of the carb. It is fast quiet and very comfortable. 20 HP and has no problem starting on cold mornings. Oh by the way folks, this model scooter has a very large radiator and does not overheat.

I have heard of the NST Co. in La Calf, and he is right about them and their product line! Do not do business with them! BAD PLACE!

James from Nevada

Sep 26, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
260 VOG
by: Jim Zeiser

This scooter is a reknowned trouble maker. If you look under the Tank 260cc review I'll bet that person's problems match your own. Supposedly the 2009 and newer models are better, but I'd still buy a Roketa or JCL 257cc model first.

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines