2008 Eagle Milano DX 150cc Scooter Review

by Jim Zeiser
(Deposit, NY, US)

Can we ride now?

Can we ride now?

We bought this Eagle Milano DX 150cc scooter last summer for my wife to use to go back and forth to work, but she decided to become a Honda Rebel owner after a month. So, now it's a grocery getter and short haul machine... for which it's perfect.


It came from an online company and was assembled by the Bashan Motorcycle Company in China. It has enough space under the seat to carry a gallon of milk and various groceries. It gets between 63 to 68 mpg running on regular, and runs about 50 to 53 mph with me on board, more with my lightweight wife.

I wasn't expecting a Vespa, just something to get around on, considering it cost $1100... and it's done that with a minimum of fuss for close to 1100 miles.

I've had a warranty problem taken care of by the online seller, so he isn't a fly-by-nighter, contrary to popular lore. I've even recommended him to others who are equally satisfied. Oil and transfer case lube changes are easy so I expect to keep it running for awhile.

-->

Comments for 2008 Eagle Milano DX 150cc Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 06, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Here NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

http://scooterclones.boards.net/thread/55/manuals-gy6

Mar 06, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Scooter Doc NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

www.scotterdoc.proboards.com

This forum has manuals and advice from the participants. Go there and learn.

Mar 06, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help! NEW
by: Danny Duran

I bought a 2008 eagle Milano 150cc it was running . No moped or other place will touch it with out a Service manual!
I can not get it to Denver or even spring as the places I looked at online will not look at "fake" Chinese mopeds.
I have no truck or car so this moped was my freedom from 2 hour bus rides one way to get food at Walmart or king soopers.
Anyone out there have a Service manual I can buy or copy?
( Sick of dollar store food danny.)
dannyduran42@yahoo.com

Nov 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Great Scooter NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

Mine has 9,500 miles on it now and runs better than ever. I took it on an 80 mile ride three days in a row and it did just fine. It's been in my collection for seven and a half years and never left me stranded.

Nov 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2007 Bashan NEW
by: Anonymous

I have a 2007 Eagle which I haven't used for a couple of years as the engine was stalling out when I hit the throttle ... then the battery died and I never replaced it. ... My son cleaned out the carb and the kick start turned it over with a nice idle and smooth acceleration ... so, I put a new battery in and we seem to be back in service. ... With only 848 mile on it, I should be good for years ...

Nov 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2007 Bashan NEW
by: Anonymous

I have a 2007 Eagle which I haven't used for a couple of years as the engine was stalling out when I hit the throttle ... then the battery died and I never replaced it. ... My son cleaned out the carb and the kick start turned it over with a nice idle and smooth acceleration ... so, I put a new battery in and we seem to be back in service. ... With only 848 mile on it, I should be good for years ...

May 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Still Running NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

As my Milano approaches it's sixth year in my possession I think I can comment on its strengths and weaknesses. It's most glowing weakness is....me. I have written about it having an oil leak several times years ago and last Summer I finally discovered the source. Back when I did the original valve job I overtightened the cam tunnel bolts and started the head cracking. Ultimately it shattered by those bolts and rivers of oil flowed out. I scoured the web and found several sources that sold cylinder heads. Scrappydog scooters had the best price and for the meager sum of $50 I purchased a fully equipped head to replace the original. It has in the last six hundred miles run as good as ever and the leak has been quelled. I tried to sell it and discovered that people have no interest in a Chinese scooter with 7,400 miles. It's no longer for sale and just last week passed 8,000 miles. Used sensibly it runs as well as anything. I cruise all day at 45 mph and it has become an errand runner and occasional commuter. Not bad for a scooter that wasn't supposed to last.

Sep 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Newbie NEW
by: Lyndsey C

I just bought a silver Milano 150cc and I love it! I got a great deal on it and I'm really excited to get to know my scooter and learn to work on it myself. Sounds like as long as I take care of it with regular maintenance, it should last me a long while. I am really glad that I found this thread, as I'm sure it's going to be extremely helpful to me in the future. I just wanted to say thanks for taking the time write this review and give updates. One question for you:
How is your Milano running these days and how many miles have you put on it?


Apr 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Metric Hardware NEW
by: Jim Zeiser

As I recall it's about a four to six millimeter screw. Local hardware stores carry an assortment of small screws. Buy one of each (4,5,6) and thread it in. It's not a plumbing (tapered) screw so one of those should fit. Otherwise try www.partsforscooters.com

It's a common ailment.

Apr 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Carburetor Drain Line Screw NEW
by: Glynn

The screw to the drain line on my carburetor came out today and it didn't take long for it to quit running on me. Can somebody tell me what size screw to use to replace it, and maybe show me a picture of it so I will know what to look for? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Oct 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Jim Zeiser
by: Tire Valves

The problem with Chinese valve stems seems to come up alot. Taking off the tire means removing the exhaust system, the swing arm bracket and axle nut. If it had air in it you have to let it out to get past the oil fill tube. Once off the wheel is like any scooter wheel. You have to get one side of the tire off and then you can pop in a new valve and put it back together.

Oct 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
tire change
by: Atom

i really love my scooter.. seemed like it was going to last forever with no problems but i kept having a leak in the back tire and when i went to put air in it this last time, the valve stem flew off. its broken. the tire has like new tread on it too.. but the problem is i dont know anyone who can fix it. the places around me say they arent authorized to. whatever that means.. i guess i am going to have to do this myself and am just looking for some advice. thanks!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Three Years
by: Jim Zeiser

We've had the Milano for three years this month and the darndest thing is happening. My oldest stepson just got his motorcycle license and commandeered his Mom's Honda Rebel. My wife needed something to ride and has taken over the Milano again for her 32 mile round trip. Yesterday I asked how fast she was going on it and she replied, "50 mph most of the time, but 55 when someone passes me and I get sucked into their draft." Not bad for a three year old Chinese scooter with 4700 miles.

Jun 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Definitely Chinese
by: Jim Zeiser

Yes, the Eagle Milano 150 is definitely built in China. The parts it contains were ordered by GS Motorworks in Dallas, Texas. They still sell the 50cc version of it but it's built for them by Tao Tao. With proper care and ridden within its limits a Milano will last a good, long time. Mine just turned 4,350 miles this morning.

Jun 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hi everyone
by: Anonymous

I just want to know, some of my friends here in Mexico think the Eagle Milano 150cc 2010 its a Chinese product. I would like to know if this is true. I've been researching a lot but I still haven't find anything trustful info. I will appreciate it if somebody can assure me these scooters really are a high quality product cause I really want to buy one for the type of job I intend. Thanks! God bless!

May 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another Thousand
by: Jim Zeiser

I got to use the Milano as my commuter scooter this week and put around 150 miles on it. In the process it passed 4,000 miles. Besides saving me gas money it's a fun way to commute and saves wear and tear on my 1997 minivan. If the weather cooperates I just might get to pass a few thousand mile barriers this Summer. Now wouldn't that be nice?

Mar 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Let The Good Times Roll
by: Jim Zeiser

It was a decent enough day to finally roll out the Milano and do some errand running. I had to take a deposit to the bank, hit the local Family Dollar for some small purchases and stop at Wendy's for some fast food. The scooter just hummed along happy as a clam and saved pricey fuel and wear and tear on the car. Once the weather improves this will be a regular routine.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another Riding Season Begins
by: Jim Zeiser

I went out to start the Milano after letting it sit since November. After a few long cranks on the electric starter it fired right up and settled into a steady idle. I gassed it up and the rear wheel spins just fine. Soon it will be fetching groceries and doing trips to the doctor and saving me gas. It's nice to have an old friend I can count on.

Jan 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
WoooHOOO
by: JON

I got my Eagle, And i love it ! i ride it like i stole it, and for the price you cant get a better scooter, i race with it and for 150cc , it runs hard and faster then other 150cc. i go from work and back everyday... all around a very go buy! tip when new ride it up to 20mph , for the bearing to get nice and smooth, after you hit the 30 road miles or so its good to open that throttle so the piston oil rings seal nicely , that how i broke mine in , still no probs.. with it! just lot of fun!!!!

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fuel Float
by: Jim Zeiser

I never looked at mine since it works but from what I understand sometimes the float inside the tank jams against the side of the tank. A simple bend of the float arm and it will work again. You just have to find out how to get it out. Probably dropping the tank is involved.

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GS Motorworks
by: Jim Zeiser

Also www.gsmotorworks.com eagle parts

But better yet, call 1-888-400-3253 and ask to talk to John their parts guy. Tell him Jimmy from Scootdawg sent you and he'll take care of you. They sold this scooter for many years and now sell the 50cc version.

In addition www.greenearthscooters.com is the sales arm for Bashan and sells it as the Biella. They too have parts for it.

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PartforScooters.com
by: Kathi

Billy... If you read through many pages of this site (or look at the FAQs under the Questions About Maintenance/Repair page, you'll see that Jimmy Z., another Eagle Milano owner (and the writer of this review that you commented on), always recommends a website called partsforscooters.com

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
parts
by: billy

Hi, I just bought the same scooter used. Where do you buy parts at? My fuel gauge reads empty all the time when it's full. Thanks...

Aug 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Oil Change and Rear Tire
by: Jim Zeiser

At the lofty mileage of 3,000 miles it was necessary to change the mini 10" back tire on the Milano. I'm not one to spend vast amounts of cash on tires so I found what I needed online for $23 with shipping. The tire is a Cheng Shin made in Taiwan so I figure it's in keeping with the scooter. Bargain scooter-bargain tire.
I also did the oil change for the engine and rear drive gears. All looked well with no debris or strange coloring in the oil.
I'm hoping this tire lives longer than the first. Removing it was not exactly the easiest wheel I've come across. Taking off an exhaust system to get out a wheel is up there in the difficult category in my book. My Kawasaki takes half the time.

Jun 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Valve Adjustment
by: Jim Zeiser

Last week I performed the season opening valve clearance check/adjustment. In my inimitable style I managed to strip one of the valve cover threads out and had to re-tap the hole a size larger and find a bigger bolt. My bad. The job took another couple of hours because of that and the heat which made everything go slower. Otherwise the scooter is fine and running well at 2700 miles.

Nov 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
New Scooter
by: Eli

Folks, I love my Eagle. I bought it used (with a non-functioning odometer...) for $1,000. It's a 2007 so I know I could have gotten it much cheaper but I just jumped on it and I am really happy.

I don't know when I'll need it repaired, etc, but if it lasts a year as a commuter machine I'm just fine and dandy with that. It starts every time, gets me from A to B and is fun and adorable.

P.S., I named her Buttercup.

Nov 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My Scooter
by: Jim Zeiser

Anyone who has watched my space in the E Scooter Club section is probably thinking "what a piece of junk". I don't think of this scooter that way. You're reading of all the things I've done out in the open that would take place behind shop doors if I let someone else take care of it for me. Replacing a cheap OEM drive belt on these scooters is about right at 2400 miles as are the valve adjustments and oil changes. If it came with a Gates belt stock it would have cost another $50 or more. Things like this keep them cheap. Replacing the cheap parts is part of the adventure. Come the warmer weather I'll have to replace the back tire and do another valve adjustment/check, along with an oil change. Not because it's a cheap Chinese scooter, just because it's a machine that needs maintenance.

Jun 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Online Company Comes Through
by: Jim Zeiser

Elsewhere there is a story about me having to replace the valve springs on my scoot. One thing I didn't mention was that the people at GS Motorworks stood behind their warranty 100%. The person in the parts department was even going to send me a completely new, fully equipped head before I told him I was having mine rebuilt. As it was they sent all the gaskets I needed to do the job. For an online company they were exceptional.

Apr 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
URL of Online Seller
by: Jim Zeiser

Sure Kathi, I bought the scooter from
www.gsmotorworks.com It's a subsidiary of A & A Scooters Inc. They also own www.Rightwayatv.com, which also sells the Eagle line. On the Right Way site you can see a video of the warehouse and Parts Department.

Apr 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Refreshing Review, Jim
by: Kathi

Thanks, Jim, for taking the time to submit this review of the Eagle Milano DX 150cc scooter. That's great you had such a positive online experience. Would you be willing to share the URL of the site where you bought your scooter to help out my other readers?

Thanks in advance!

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:


If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!


Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...






Attention!

ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!


Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow


Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.







XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines