2006 Dazon Sicilian 125 Scooter Review

by Bill
(Harrisburg, PA, USA)

I took ownership of this scooter about 1 month ago. My brother gave it to me as a gift as he was purchasing a full-size motorcycle. The Dazon scooter had 1615 miles when I received it and I have put about 300 miles on it since then.

I had to do some simple maintenance to get the engine to start and also to pass Pennsylvania inspection. The scooter starts and runs nicely now and is OK quality.

There are many look-alike scooters (Roketa, etc.), so spare parts do not seem to be a problem. I was able to find parts online (replacement turn signals and lens covers that fit perfectly and at a reasonable price).

The engine is a 125cc GY6. The top speed is 47 mph on a flat and level surface (I weigh 160 lbs.). Fuel consumption is 60-65 mpg.

This scooter is really fun to ride on back country roads with minimal traffic or in 25-35 mph traffic in town (Hershey, PA).

I would not ride it on roads where average speeds get much above 40 mph as the speed governor kicks in and limits acceleration. Also the handling above 40 gets "interesting" with the small tires. Handling in gravel or dirt is also squirrely so I avoid these areas.

I am planning to ride this scooter back and forth to work for as long as the weather holds out. I am really enjoying the morning and evening rides!

Plus the scooter looks cool and I can talk to Jesus while I am riding and thank Him for keeping me safe and for letting me have so much fun. I used to ride 250cc street cycles in the 1970s but the scooter is the thing now.

Comments for 2006 Dazon Sicilian 125 Scooter Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 12, 2012
Dazon Diamondback scooter NEW
by: Anonymous

Where is the govenor on a Dazon Diamondback scooter

Aug 07, 2011
Dazon Update
by: Bill

Over 4,000 miles on the Dazon "Sicilian 125" and still commuting well. The scooter generally starts immediately except if it is not run for a few days (squirt of gas into the air cleaner usually starts it then). Gas mileage is 60-63 mpg. Top speed is ~45 mph. I do not enjoy riding these small scooters faster that 40-45 mph due to the small tires and short wheelbase. Still lots of fun!

May 17, 2011
by: Anonymous

You are hillarious dude. I feel the same way about mine!

Jan 22, 2011
PA scooter tags
by: Anonymous

I just brought the title, proof of insurance, and receipt to PennDOT as is the normal procedure to get tags. Nothing unusual.

Jan 22, 2011
What did you have to do to make PA legal
by: miz

I was curious about the scooter. I have the ability to pick one up pretty cheap. I was told that it couldn't be registered in PA. What modifications were required to make it PA legal?

Thanks in advance,


Aug 25, 2010
Follow-up Review
by: Bill

I have put over 1,000 miles on the Dazon 125 since I got it in March 2010. In general, the scooter is running well. The gas mileage and top speed improve with an after-market air filter (+5-8 mpg and +2-3 mph) but the engine intake noise also increases. Occasionally the scooter will not start without gas being directly squirted into the carburetor (I think this is due to leaky vacuum lines).

I avoid heavy traffic whenever possible and I thank God that I have not had any spills or other types of accidents. Riding scooters or motorcycles provides the opportunity to utilize "double-defensive" driving methods so as to avoid bad situations whenever possible.

I plan to keep riding the Dazon for the rest of the year into the colder weather. Still LOTS OF FUN!

Jun 10, 2010
Solid Review
by: Kathi

Thanks for leaving this review, Bill. Not a brand I'd heard of before this, but as you say, many of the Chinese scoots are interchangeable to a great extent.

Glad you're having such a great time on her!

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Reviews Archives - Chinese Scooters.

When you're done here, you may also be interested in reading some of these popular pages:

If you like to talk scooters, check out our motor scooter forums!

Battery Tender Junior in package

A battery tender like the Battery Tender Jr. can make all the difference in whether your scooter will start right up each spring, after being stored for months.

Just about every scooter owner needs to have a battery tender, sometimes called a trickle charger. Unless you are lucky enough to live in a climate where you can ride all year long, chances are your scooter will be put on ice, figuratively-speaking, for at least a couple months every winter.

One of the key steps in winterizing a scooter is to protect your battery from draining during its "rest" period. This can – and will – happen if you leave your battery sitting untended in your cold scooter over the winter, even if it's in a garage or shed.

Read our review or go right to Amazon.com to buy this highly recommended Battery Tender Jr NOW...


ATTENTION! I have had to delete the Scooter Forum for this site, unfortunately. Despite my best efforts, I could not adequately prevent daily attacks by hackers and spammers. Even though most of their posts did not go public, they still cluttered up my website host's server space, jeopardizing my account. I appreciate everyone's contributions over the past few years and I apologize for having to do this.

Wondering why your scooter question never got posted?

Chances are, there is a good reason. Did you...

If you "checked yes" on any of the points above, then I've deleted your post. Sorry, but I have standards. Feel free to re-submit, following the instructions I have everywhere on the site.

Also... all submissions have to be reviewed by me, and I am currently backlogged. Comments go live without approval, but still take 30 to 60 minutes to show up, so don't repost them, please.

This Week's Highlights

Share Your Scooter Blog Here
Your Help Needed!

We have lots of unanswered questions... can you help? Also, check out our newest eScooter Club members We are growing every week!

Keep Up to Date

Follow us on our Facebook Fan Page Follow our updates on Twitter
Subscribe to my motor scooter blog Subscribe to our RSS feed in your feed reader

Help Us Grow

Support This Site

I support this site by using affiliate marketing and running Google ads. I earn a small commission when you purchase items here, which helps to keep the site afloat. Thank you for your support.

XML RSSSubscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines